DoD(Day Of Defeat) Questions/Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

T0t

In Runtime
Allright, well I've been experiencing some difficulties while playing the mod Day Of Defeat. Counter-Strike also performs the same way.

1) Well, first of all I only get 60-71 fps(mostly gets stuck on 71 and doesnt go any higher) Below are my specs. I think I should be getting atleast 80-90 fps based on my specs but it doesnt go any higher than 71 fps. Help.

2) Allright well I started playing a few days ago. It wasnt until yesterday that I learnt how to check my fps. Heres the problem. When I asked inside the server while playing a game they told me to put in "gg fps" into the console. As soon as I put that in it said something about a demo and the game kicked me out. Now Im thinking someone in the server played a joke on me or something since he/she saw I was new. Now, what exactly does putting in "gg fps" into a game console do? Can that little "joke" cause system errors or any kind of system malfunctions? Thanks in advance.

SPECS:
Windows XP HOME Service Pack 2
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
2 case sleeve fans 8x8
Abit Kv8-Pro VIA KT-800
512 MB Kingston 400mhz DDR Ram
Maxtor 160gb 7200rpm (8mb SATA-150) HD
Sony 16x dvd
NEC DVDRW +/- 8x
600 watt subwoofer + speakers
1.44mb floppy
Multimedia Keyboard
Optical Mouse
Thermal Meter
6 in 1 card reader
Blue Bold Cathode neon light
Orion 420Watt psu
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
Nec 17' LCD Display

gg XXX just plays a demo and cannot cause system errors

About your FPS, HL engine locks the FPS, you can get around this by the FPS MAX 99 command I believe

What do you mean plays a demo? Mind explaining abit more?

And what exactly is the fps max command? FPS_Max 99? something along those lines?

Turn off Vertical Sync if you havent done so already. then put this command in console "fps_map 101"

Judging by you're new you probably dont have proper rates.