Intrusion Prevent/Decetion systems Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheepykins

Daemon Poster
Hello fellow techies,

As none of you really know me, I shall fill you in - currently I work as an Information Security Analyst which sounds like a pretty boring job and to some extent, you are right.
It is my job to dig through packet decodes, stop infiltration and protect business networks for a modest fee ;) this is done in many ways including:
1. knowing your setup and any vulnerabilities
2. keeping abreast of information that might make you a possible target
3. keeping a tight reign on your employees but not too tight as to make them want to break your rules.

I saw a little topic called Enterprise Security so I thought I would give everyone a little intro into one specific way of controlling data, Intrusion Prevention systems and Intrusion Detection system.

Do you have a small business, website or hosted platform you wish to keep secure? This could be for you!

IPS/IDS

Essentially IPS and IDS devices work by sniffing packets. They work on a detection system governed by rules and then alert the user in the form of signatures or software guardian watching.

For example, I have a rule set up on my IDS system that states if Computer A sends over 20 TCP based packets to Computer B which are observed on 20 or more unique ports then this will flag the signature
"TCP-PORT SCAN ATTEMPT" in some sort of GUI which will tell me that someone may be attempting to see if one or more of my ports is responding to incoming connections. By trying to determine what ports I have open on my system a malicious user can tailor an attack to any open ports I have.

IPS and IDS sensors differ in only one aspect, one is active and the other is passive. This may seem obvious as one is Intrusion PREVENSION, and the other Intrusion DETECTION however I thought it'd buff my thread out to clarify the two :D