Getting Started in Cyber Security?

GLaDOS

In Runtime
Hi Everyone,

(I'm not entirely sure if this is the correct forum to place this question, so if I was mistaken I apologize.)

I have become very interested in the field of cyber security and I was wondering if anyone could provide some useful resources, advice, or general guidance that could possibly help me get started in the field.

To give a very brief background I graduated college last May with a degree in Business Management and Marketing. I have been working for an insurance company doing data entry. I have always had an interest for computers but only recently decided to look into the idea of pursuing a career in the IT industry. I'm still doing a lot of research (as IT is a very broad field) but a job somewhere in Cyber Security has moved its way to the top of my list so far and I was hoping I could get some information from the users here. I am aware I'd have to take a number of different classes (I would imagine either for certifications or for maybe even a masters?) and that is fine by me. I am just happy to have a professional goal that I can be excited about - so far my employment after college has not been very fulfilling.

If anyone could give me an idea of how to get started and possibly even an idea of what a career in cyber-security is like day-to-day, I would REALLY appreciate it! I always felt that talking to people who actually work in the field was the best way to learn.

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their week!

IT depends what you do in cyber security, its a pretty broad field.
I'm an intrusion analyst, which is something that has a steep learning curve even for people familiar with ICT.
Basically, we have network taps placed on customers internal/internet facing networks and we sift through and make sure none of it is bad.