Rehash on a Virtual Server 2008 For Practice

y2adre

In Runtime
Hello All,

I am in the process of doing a VM server 2008 to get practice on active directory, permissions, domain setup, and a file server. I just want to know, how easy is it to set it up?

I am about to take my A+ Cert in Jan and knock that out. I want to work as a network admin and am teaching myself everything about server 2008. I want to teach myself so much about VM's and Server OS to follow a career down that route. Anyone in the field of VM's or Server Admin/ Network Admin they can give me any good advice? I sincerely appreciate it!!!!

Server 2008 R2 is a VERY broad topic. I would suggest breaking it down into sections like Microsoft does with their certifications. It's good to mess around with the server to become familiar with the mmc, server management, etc - but I believe it would be even more important to nail down the Microsoft certifications.

I'm a network admin responsible for vmware, storage and server support / provisioning. My suggestion would be to gain as much experience as possible. Are you currently employed in the IT field? That should be goal #1. Unless you are getting a bachelors degree, most companies will not hire you straight into an admin position.

Get your A+ first. Then maybe Net+ a few months later. Once you ahve those I personally would work on your MCSE for server 2008 or 2012 depending on what material you have.