Do I need a server? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Servers and Virtualization
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2018, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Do I need a server?

Hello,

Sorry if this is a foolish question and thanks in advance for your time.

The boss wants to save money (shocking news right?) So he's looking at G Suite or 365 for file storage and email. Not as ideal as hosting, the boss understands, but since it will be free for us (as a not-for-profit) it has his attention.

Do I need a server for our other needs or are there other solutions? We have approximately 50 users that share approx. 30 Windows PCs. We share printers. Operate out of two buildings with a wireless bridge connecting them. Have 2 NVRs for a lot of cameras (they do allow remote viewing).

Obviously there is a lot I don't understand and (I'm sure) more information I should provide but I'm not a real IT person. If anyone can assist with info I would appreciate it.

And on the off chance our real IT person sees this; it's not that the boss doesn't believe you he just see savings and wants to be sure.

Thanks everyone.
__________________

__________________
Homeless_Shelter_IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,939
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Do I need a server?

GSuite would be an excellent start as far as handling emails, calendars, and simple storage.

Need more info for the rest.
Are your printers all network printers? How are they shared at the moment?
Do your NVRs have their own inbuilt storage and is it adequate for your needs?
What size file storage do you need? Do you need structured access (e.g. allow user X access but not user Y for folders ABC).
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Do I need a server?

Thank you for your reply.


Almost all of our printers are shared, some on our current server but others shared through the hosting PC. I don't imagine it would be a problem to move the server based ones to connect to a PC and share from there.
The NVRs do have their own storage (they are really new, just finished install this week so I don't know if the storage is enough but I assume if not, there would be other, non-server solutions we could pursue).
We are knocking on a couple of TB total file storage and do need structured access. We aren't opposed to paying for a couple of user accounts with Microsoft or G-Suit to give us the storage space we need.
__________________
Homeless_Shelter_IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,431
Default Re: Do I need a server?

Best question here is how sensitive is the data being handled?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Do I need a server?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Best question here is how sensitive is the data being handled?
Very sensitive. Are you suggesting G Suite and 365 would not be secure enough to protect the data? Thanks!
__________________
Homeless_Shelter_IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Database server..need to build a new server and migrate the data with minimum downtime. Help! Alexi102000 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-17-2013 10:46 PM
Server 2003 Clients Need Full Server Name to access Shares genistas Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 11-19-2009 10:44 PM
why do we need to use the server motherboard to run the WINDOW 2003 server version rufusion Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-24-2006 06:12 PM
The Windows Server System: Featuring Windows Server 2003 and Exchange Server 2003 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-11-2006 08:32 PM
Win2k3 Server...Running as an ftp server A_Zip1 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 11-15-2003 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.