Access Databse

IMATech

Beta member
I am a recent grad and new to the industry. Currently, my company has an Access Database that is about 1.4 GB. This database is accessed via a shared network folder and is fairly sluggish. I am trying to find what the bottleneck is, using performance monitor I see that none of the computers hardware goes above 20% CPU usage and never spikes above 40% memory usage. I want to inspect the network traffic but I am not part of the security department so can't exactly use Wireshark or other tools I would be familiar with and would rather not have to work with them to do so. I am not 100% sure how Access works as far as syncing. This setup is obviously sub-par and makeshift so it's a bit of an odd issue. All of the I/O looks fine. When someone opens the database a temp copy is pulled to and saved to their computer until it is shut down. When clicking on dropdown lists in the form or running queries the databse seems to be sluggish. My theory is that because of the setup the database copies are referring lots of requests back to the central copy to pull and update information so is being bottlenecked by Access itself and/or the network (5-6 people use this at a time). Can anyone confirm my thoughts or provide an alternative explanation and hopefully explain how Access would interact in this environment? Thanks! (Updating to a different database is not an option currently).

1.4 GB is really really large, especially for something shared on the network. You may not have a specific bottleneck, that file is just stupid big for access. Sounds like maybe this was a flat file that just got out of hand.

Per MS the max size of an access DB is 2GB. I know you aren't there yet but that's really large.

Personally would suggest one of two things: