How to install xp without the xp cd. - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Official TF Tutorials
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 12:04 AM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Question Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

Yeah Eric you said in this post that in order to install xp without the xp cd you need to have an usb HDD.Well if I follow the instructions under here under warning one How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install and delete the Undo_giomode.txt file will I NOT have to use a USB HDD because as it claims I will prevent loss of data/programs?Also the link I gave you is talking about a repair install.Can I do a repair install while following your instructions(about a substitute for an xp cd)?
I apologize in advance if I sound noobish.I am a noob
Mak123 referred me to you on this page(thread whatever) BSOD?Any help?

Old 08-16-2008, 10:11 AM   #42 (permalink)
Chillin Techie

Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by christian121 View Post
Yeah Eric you said in this post that in order to install xp without the xp cd you need to have an usb HDD.Well if I follow the instructions under here under warning one How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install and delete the Undo_giomode.txt file will I NOT have to use a USB HDD because as it claims I will prevent loss of data/programs?Also the link I gave you is talking about a repair install.Can I do a repair install while following your instructions(about a substitute for an xp cd)?
I apologize in advance if I sound noobish.I am a noob
Mak123 referred me to you on this page(thread whatever) BSOD?Any help?
I don't know about repairs. every time I tried it except for the first time, I got a BSOD

Old 11-15-2008, 09:52 PM   #43 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

Did that process in the video do a format? I'm trying to figure out how to do it since I don't have a really windows cd, just the recovery disc.