How to install xp without the xp cd. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Official TF Tutorials
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2008, 10:33 PM   #21 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

When you click the link you get 3 download options.

1 from bondongo, 1 from megaupload, 1 from fastupload. Just click the download button near one of those and it should take a second but redirect you to the download link.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:58 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Superman Village
Posts: 19
Question Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

How do you watch it? I don't get what you do.
__________________

supermanman is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 07:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

You download the file. Extract it with WinRar or any other compression applicaiton that can handle .rar files. Then just watch it with WMP. It is a .avi file in there that you watch.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Superman Village
Posts: 19
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

nevermind. i goofed... on this post.
supermanman is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 06:31 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Superman Village
Posts: 19
Question Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

ok can I burn winnt and winnt32 (all 4 of the files in I386) to create a boot disk to install on my computer that won' boot? That was the reason I came here.
supermanman is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 12:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

Here is a question Eric. A person i recommended this to said that autostreamer will not slipstream SP2 into the XP disc for them. They tried both just selecting the exe and also extracting it and neither worked. Do you know how to solve this issue?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 12:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

let me see what I can do
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 12:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to install xp without the xp cd.

Thanks Eric. It is appreciated.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 08:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default how to install xp with out the xp disc part II

this is improved video from the last guide since I now have a more computer friendly hdtv to give me proper screen capture. this topic originated here.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/how...-xp-cd-156805/

This is a tutorial to show people how to install XP without the XP CD.

How to install XP without the XP CD

If your computer didn't come with a XP disc, like most name brand store bought computers (some will give you a useless restore disc), then it probably had an I386 folder on the c drive. Check to see if it has a winnt32.exe file in it. Click it to see if a window's installation will come up. I have seen a couple of I386 folders that didnít have the file. Back the folder up. You can reinstall XP with it

You just need a BartPE CD or ERD Commander 2005 cd. follow the guide. I found an old i386 folder o one of my computers that was obviously missing a few files. ignore those mesages.

I'm hoping the this can stay here for a week or 2 before mak will merge it with the old post so that more people can view it. you can view this without any special codec

MassMirror.com - Download installxpwitoutthexpcdpartII.wmv

Mirror provided by Mak213 AKA KSoD
Mirror 2

I use VMware Server to do the install as I could not capture it any other way.

If you have a brand name computer (i.e. hp, gateway, Sony, dell) you also have a driver folder on your c drive. Back it up too. Millions of people reformat their comp. then have to look everywhere on the web for drivers that they already have. Duh

Watch the video for the rest of the info. Positive comments are welcome.

Many thanks to Warez Monster (Tech Forums) and Vertigo173 (Demonoid) for giving me tip to make this video
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 08:52 PM   #30 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: how to install xp with out the xp disc part II

Okay so would you like this one stickied and the other one removed? I will download this and get the file hosted on my site for a backup as well.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are some things you do/change/install/apply after a fresh install? bonoz Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-23-2011 10:21 PM
trying to install win xp sp1 so i can install sp3, but get an error camosilver311 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 03-12-2009 04:29 PM
Vista install issues - install hangs jakeyman_i_am Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-23-2008 07:41 PM
New Mobo/CPU install, always have to to fresh OS install? Raphael Argus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 11-22-2006 12:21 PM
Fedora Core 3 install problem. Won't install with only one CPU mikepg Linux and Open Source 1 04-26-2005 06:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.