Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Projects and Tutorials
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2014, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them!

Sometimes when installing software, you'll get browser addons and tool bars. Please be weary of these toolbars as some of them will attempt to redirect you to sites that say you need to update your Flash or Java, when really these sites are making you download a virus.

If your browser opens a web page that is not your set homepage, it's usually pretty obvious that something isn't right. When you go into your settings to force the home page to open, and it still won't open? Then something is definitely wrong.

Removing conduits is a simple matter, depending on what type of conduit you have. 99% of them are what I call invisible conduits, meaning that they do not show up in the windows control panel for Programs and Applications and therefore cannot be uninstalled by regular methods.

PLEASE BE WARNED THAT YOUR ANTI VIRUS WILL NOT NOTICE THESE CONDUITS!

To remove an invisible conduit follow these simple steps:
1. Go to your app data folder, and check Local, LocalLow, and Roaming for any folder named "conduit", if you find any folders, delete it immediately.
2. To fix your browser issue, right click on your browser short cut (Found on desktop, or start menu) and go to properties. Then look at the "Target:" box. If it has a web address in it, remove that web address.
3. Run a search of your drive for any folders named conduit. If you find any, delete them.

If there's a listing in your Programs and Applications list that even MENTIONS a conduit, remove it immediately.

Happy computer fixing
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them!

I've had good luck removing any toolbars, etc. via Programs & Features and then just running MBAM.

Then go into each browser and check the add-ons/extensions to make sure there's nothing there, check the homepages, and then check the Search Engine setting.

Usually takes care of it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them!

I recently had to deal with a conduit on a friends pc that had added the website to open to the actual desktop shortcut via the Target: option in properties. According to what I've seen and heard, this is becoming more common...
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them!

Had to remove it off of my wife's laptop several times - I'm able to get rid of it fairly quickly now.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 06:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: Tutorial: Avoiding conduits, and how to remove them!

This kind of software can regularly be avoided by downloading the installer from the developers site.
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
be safe, conduit, tutorial

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove RAID drives in XP and use them as separate drives again? camosilver311 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-16-2012 11:04 AM
Avoiding software licensing infringement? TylerGottfried Programming 1 06-14-2012 10:13 AM
[PHP] avoiding time out .. alaa_ecv_tc Programming 6 05-21-2012 07:28 AM
SH 2 and SH3 PC Game shows up in my Add and Remove Program list and I can't remove it lafguy81 Off Topic Discussion 6 06-15-2007 03:59 AM
keep getting popups/spyware and can't remove them. help please! log included Snake64_009 HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 03-11-2007 08:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.