Is there such a thing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2018, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Default Is there such a thing?

I have a friend who isn't tech savvy, and neither am I. Although I know more than he does, LOL.

He has a flat screen in his living room, and would like to be able to watch tv in his bedroom without having to buy a new screen or new equipment.

I was wondering......

Is there a way to hookup a pc monitor remotely, to the flat screen that has the cable hooked up to it? Does that make sense?

With so much "remote" and "wireless" stuff floating around nowadays, I am curious if a monitor can be used in one room and wirelessly attached to some kind of cable adapter thats connected to the tv?

Hope I'm describing this correctly.


Thanks
__________________

__________________
chesterv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 5
Default Re: Is there such a thing?

Hi Chesterv you can simply use chromecast Screen Casting to get display across devices without any cables
__________________

__________________
elenax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 06:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 656
Default Re: Is there such a thing?

A Chromecast can't do what the OP is asking about. I don't think there's a way to do what is being asked.
__________________
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,327
Default Re: Is there such a thing?

The TV isn't going to have a repeater function, let alone wireless repeater function. The monitor also won't have this wireless function built in either.

He will need to get a Chromecast or wireless HDMI dongle for his monitor in his room.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there such a thing as an internal usb y cable? ingeborgdot Overclocking and Modding 6 01-15-2005 02:03 AM
CPU Test... Is there such a thing? sjm1027 Overclocking and Modding 5 09-11-2004 05:46 AM
Fanless cooling (is there such a thing?) ereeno Overclocking and Modding 5 08-18-2004 03:24 AM
Is there really such a thing as "over-doing it". Shakie Off Topic Discussion 13 10-24-2003 04:36 PM
Is there such thing as safe overclocking? U_X_U Overclocking and Modding 5 07-10-2003 01:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.