'Linux Ignored, Not Immune,' Says Hacker Contest Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Heh, I understand what you're saying. And I agree with you, due to windows' more frequent attacks it appears as if windows is weakly secured, when in reality it's pretty **** secure. I understand that. But we tested all kinds of this stuff when I was still in school. I have a degree in cyber security, so naturally, we have to know how to hack in order to prevent it. I'm telling you my opinion, not from a biased point of view, but in my experience in my field, Linux definitely does have better robustness. Does that mean XP doesn't? **** no! I actually like XP. Wish I could say the same for Vista, but that's something I refuse to debate about anymore. Especially here.

And yes, I know all about the windows customizing sites. They are littered on google. I know, I know, I've been through it all. But... in my opinion, Linux definitely takes the cake on this one. I know I sound like one **** of a biased *******, and so be it if I do, but I've used windows for over a decade. I've used Linux for less than 2 years. It's not like I started out with Linux and it's all I swear by with a closed minded point of view.

Windows gets attacked more frequently than Linux, I don't care why. I also don't care what would happen if everyone used Linux, because everyone doesn't.

And Mak, go into Synaptic and change your update settings if you don't like them (Settings > Repositories > Updates). I have mine set to "Weekly" and "Only Notify."

You can't compare linux to windows.. its completely different. I get around 100 updates A DAY with linux.. windows? likely 1 every 2-3 weeks. Linux is always changing and if anything is found wrong it gets fixed quickly.