Winamp 5.1 Update Just Released - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Default Winamp 5.1 Update Just Released

You can download it here.

Updates are listed below.

Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition:
* New: CodingTechnologies AACPlus encoder!
Awesome at low bitrates too!
* New: Grand Prize Winner of the Internet Surround Music Project!
KAJE - Hey Buddy (featuring Afrika Bambaataa)
* New: SHOUTcast Wire - A Media RSS Browser and Subscription Service
* New: Predixis Smart Playlist Generator
(Mix your tracks based on what they sound like!)
* New: AOL Radio featuring (((XM))) Free Sampler!
* New: CD Ripping now available at 8x in free version!
* New: Microsoft WMA encoder
* New: Over 200 new Milkdrop presets!
* Update: in_vorbis now returns bitrate in getextendedfileinfo
* Fixed: WMA stuttery playback
* Fixed: out_ds copy button on status tab now works all the time
* Fixed: Much improved ripping and playback with Sonic engine
* Fixed: Video window now resizable regardless of Sidecar
* Fixed: Length of long mp3's now reported properly
* Fixed: Silent install switch now works properly
* Fixed: Simultaneous CD Playback and Ripping
__________________

__________________
Jamil is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Awesome, gonna install...
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

thanks. it sounds nice but i will stick with my QCD. i stopped at Winamp 2.9!!!
__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 07:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Does it hog memory? I had that prob with 5.0, thats why I moved to iTunes.
__________________
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Default

I don't check how much memory it uses, because I don't have memory issues. My machine has 2 gigs, which is the max for my mainboard (if it could hold more, I'd add more).

I do recall reading about using an older style skin instead of the newer ones to save resources though...
__________________
Jamil is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

but with any version after 5.07, you lose the ability to reencode protected wma files to another format when you add the outputstacker.dll to it.

they add those extra features, to give extra incentive to get you away from those older versions of winamp to fix that glitz (not a bad glitz) in their system
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Default

Wow. People actually use WMA by their own choice? Some of the copy protected audio CDs I have seen lately have a WMA download option, which gives a user little choice but to use WMA. Other than that, there are much better encoding methods to use.
__________________
Jamil is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I personally only use mp3. It works on every player, is compact, and good quality.
__________________
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

people usually use it for converting song they downloaded off napster or musicmatch . or some people accident set their encoding rate to protected wma files as WMP alway tries to make you use wma
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

MP3 is poor quality. Almost anything is better. MPEG2 is good.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.