Trouble with VGA and RCA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2009, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Trouble with VGA and RCA

Hello there,

I did a search but did not specifically find what i was looking for so, i thought that i might ask it here, and maybe get a few answers ^^

I want to run my ps2, or maybe my gamecube off of my LCD flatscreen that i just got. It's not its only use, but one i would like to try and accomplish.

At this point, here is what i have for equipment.

Computer- Dell Inspiron 1721 Laptop
Monitor- Synaps 15.6 inch flatscreen LCD
Other Devices- PS2, Gamecube, Xbox 360, Universal VGA converter box

Trouble: Basically, I run a vga to vga cord to the universal vga box from my laptop (into the port that says pc). From here, i run another of said cords from the port that says monitor into my monitor itself. Now, the monitor works just find for dual boxing when i have it connected directly in, but i get a no signal error on the screen when hooked through the VGA box, despite having the switch set correctly to PC. Not on that, after i hooked the RCA cables into the back of the box, and turned on the ps2, and switched the box over to the ps2, there was still no display. I am unsure if i am missing something here, and i hope that i can get some advice here.

Thanks in advance!

sepher717
__________________

__________________
sepher717 is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Trouble with VGA and RCA

Anyone? Sorry if this is in the wrong forum part. ><
__________________

__________________
sepher717 is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Trouble with VGA and RCA

Its not possible to make conversion from RCA to VGA. They're completely different signals, there are converter boxes for it but they are ridiculously expensive. You may be able to do VGA/DVI to composite though.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easy Cap USB 2.0 Connecting Dillema Hayden7543 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 10-17-2008 10:26 PM
Problem with xbox 360 component to vga j12 Microsoft XBox 1 09-04-2008 01:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.