Trouble With High-Res (HDTV Rip) mpg files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Trouble With High-Res (HDTV Rip) mpg files

I have a bunch of HDTV rips in .mpg files and none of them play correctly. They vary in resolution from 720x480, 1024x57, 1440x1080 to full 1920x1080 (auctually the one file that is 720 plays fine.) I've tried WMP11 with Nvidia Pure Decoder and the K-Multimedia Player. The videos either lag extremeley heavily, or play faster than normal with no audio, and with the KMP, the lower resolution videos think that 100% size is my native screen resolution (1680x1050). Any thoughts? I'd rather not install any codecs but if its what I need, im for it.


with video size set to 50% in KMP

I also switched the video and audio decoders to the internal KMP Codecs and it has the same problem.
__________________

__________________
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Trouble With High-Res (HDTV Rip) mpg files

Video card is your problem, especially if you have intergrated. If you dont already, get a dedicated video card, preferably a geforce 7 or 8 series, as those encode/decode hd video easily, and take the full load off your cpu.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Re: Trouble With High-Res (HDTV Rip) mpg files

i have a 8600GT and a dual core proc. if you'll notice in the screenshot it says my cpu usage is ~40%. ive found 1 1920x1080 vide0 that plays smoothly in wmp11

and i have all latest drivers. the nvidia decoders are designed to put the video rendering on the gpu rather than the cpu. mabey a setting in the nvidia panel? i havent changed anything since i installed the nvidia drivers.
__________________
Biggie578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HijackThis logs for Security Team members only Trotter Viruses, Spyware and Malware 34 01-25-2008 12:13 PM
New Log enigm@tic HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 12-13-2007 07:45 PM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 09:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.