Speaker system advice .................

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltynay

Patron
Hey guys I haven't been on this area of the forum for a while. I am mainly a computer tech guy not an audiophile. I am living in Vietnam so don't need any of your excellent product finding support, I will have to tackle that mountain alone.

I am looking for a mid range system mainly for music with a sprinkling of movie viewing and computer games. I listen to a large range of music types. The room I want to place the system in is 5x8 (metres approx) with a balcony that is the same dimensions again. If possible it would be good if the receiver has the ability to do a separate output so that I can put a couple of mid range speakers in the centre of the house but that is not a priority. The system will be plugged into a computer that is outputting through an asus xonar d2x(click for specs) probably routed through itunes so that I can use my itouch as a remote. I have a PSP as well, so if anyone knows of a way to use it through wifi to connect to winamp or another program that is superior to itunes please don't hesitate to comment.

The company I work for has a subsidiary that is a Yamaha and JBL audio distributor for commercial usage. I can get wholesale price or close to for some of their audio products so I have a persuasion towards Yamaha or JBL but not a dedication to those brands if other products are better. I am going to ask the people that work there to help me develop the system, but I would really appreciate your guys advice as the professionals here in Vietnam can be very narrow minded.

So far I am looking at:

Reciever - Yamaha RX-V767 or Yamaha RX-V1067
Centre - Mission MXC1
Front stereo - Lars & ivan BOBO or Bolero
Surround L&R- ?
Rear stereo - Dali lektor 2
Sub - Yamaha NS-SW500 or Yamaha YST-FSW100

A large mix of companies :D