Which sound card?

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Xandubomb

If you only have $200, I'd just get a logitech 2.1 Z-3300 and a Xonar DX.

Oh no, I was just wondering if the STX would work with 2.1 setups. Later down the line, I'm planning to get some high end studio monitors.

I do not plan on getting the STX with the very low end 2.1 speakers I have now.

Unfortunately that's not my department, though I'm still learning.

The most knowledgeable members I've seen around here that know their audio, are EricB and Oreo.

What do you mean by run games better? I still have a couple days to return it, so if it's not worth, I'd return it.
It supports EAX 5.0 properly, and processes all of the sound on the SPU rather than using the system's CPU.

the DX and D2X do have drivers that attempt to emulate EAX 5.0 effects (called DS3D GX), but it doesn't always work with all games - since Creative, being the ****'s they are, want to be in sole control of the standard (which they've been able to do since they've had almost a monopoly on the market for some time now) and won't license EAX 5.0 to anybody.

Manufacturers can try to write their own original software intercepting the EAX calls to try and produce the same effects, but they can't legally reverse-engineer Creative's stuff to do it. And that's not easy.

The sound will work fine in games if you don't have DS3D GX turned on, but you won't get all the surround effects that the X-fi's have.

But in terms of sound quality (listening to music, movies), the Xonar DX and D2X are above the Creative's X-Fi's.

scrimstar said:
Are the speakers for the Z-5500 better or just as good as the Z-2300's speakers?
I don't know how they compare to the Z-2300's.

Though the Z-5500's, while they are above average, aren't in the same league as, studio monitors in terms of sound quality.

Do you think they can have a driver for the DS3D GX anytime soon? I guess I might return the Xi-Fi, because my son listens all of the hip-hop stuff.. =.=