Research question about possible 7.1 sound card prototype

Status
Not open for further replies.

thistlepie

Beta member
Hi! I'm an American student and I'm doing a research project in France concerning a prototype of a 7.1 sound card which will an integrated amplifier. From what I've understood, the card is similar to Creative's 7.1 Soundblaster X-Fi Xtremegamer Fatal1ty, but would actually work, haha. I don't really know the exact specs (and I really know nothing about sound cards!), but I think the Fatal1ty is the closest equivalent.

What I'm trying to find out is whether there's an interest in a sound card of this nature? As far as I saw on the reviews on newegg.com, many people bought it but were sorely disappointed. So I ask you: would you buy something similar if it worked well? Are there many who would be interested in such sound card? What would be the maximum amount of money you'd spend on such a product, taking in account possible overseas shipping costs?

Thank you for your time, I look forward to your responses!
-- Kate

A sound card with integrated amp? Internal? External? If internal, there aint no way you'd get much power out of it.

I would be against it.

A sound card with integrated amp? Internal? External? If internal, there aint no way you'd get much power out of it.

I would be against it.

I'm not quite sure if it's external or internal. If it were external, would that change your opinion?

I'm not quite sure if it's external or internal. If it were external, would that change your opinion?

not really, since 7.1 is the same as 5.1 without the extra 2 processed channnels. most people who want 7.1 will buy a 7.1 receiver and pay less for a sound card and set that card digital output to passthrough.you run 1 small wire for digital as oppose to 4 big ones for 7.1 analog