Power through USB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2019, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Zman350x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Default Power through USB

I have a small device w/ a USB port on it. Normally you plug it into a computer and it gets power through the USB and sends the data through it. This all works fine, however, I plan to plug it into my iPhone, which doesn't output a charge so it doesn't work. Would something like this work? plug it into the device, and put one of the split ones into the phone and another into an outlet? https://www.amazon.com/JoyReken-Comp...ronics&sr=1-12

I know this post is a jumbled mess and I hope it makes sense, also the answer's probably super obvious and I'm just dumb.
__________________

__________________
Zman350x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,667
Default Re: Power through USB

Powered USB hub, maybe?
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master Mastercase H500 / Antec EA650 650W / Zotac GTX 1660 AMP
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 w/ Wraith MAX RGB / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / Hyundai Sapphire 480GB SSD / WD Black 750GB HDD / WD Green 1TB HDD
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,227
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Power through USB

What is the device that you're trying to plug into your iphone?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Zman350x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Power through USB

I have an app to use the phone as a monitor, so the device is a HDMI to USB capture card/adapter. The capture card works but is un-powered by the phone, as I said above.
__________________
Zman350x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ventrillo through A40's, all other audio through speakers...using Extreme Audio X-Fi Chad711 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 12-30-2011 05:51 PM
Usb Usb Usb SDtbawab6634n63 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-09-2006 04:12 PM
Cable modem through USB or Ethernet? Moonlightman Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-11-2005 10:25 AM
Local to Remote file transfer through USB Bridge PowerGrip Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 09-01-2005 02:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.