Noob Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2007, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default Noob Question

Why is it every time I try and play a video with Windows Media Player 9, they look all weird and I cannot see anything. I figure I need some different codec or something but how do i get that? I cannot watch any .wmv at gamespot or anywhere. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Noob Question

try updating to WMP10, that might solve the problem because of the codecs or whatever
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default Re: Noob Question

I thought of that and microsoft won't let you even activate media player 10 without calling home which I do not want to do. Can't I just download some kind of codec for it? I dl several different codec packs including k-lite but they have windows media player classic which doesn't seem to be playing any .wmv anymore properly. Any ideas what I can download??
__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Noob Question

uninstall and reinstall wmplayer
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 03:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Noob Question

It's your floppy drive.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 03:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Default Re: Noob Question

Try the k-lite codec pack. Its the only thing i installed since I formatted a while ago. No problems since.

Free-Codecs.com : Download K-Lite Codec Pack 3.01 FULL, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.01 STANDARD, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.01 BASIC : K-Lite Codec Pack is a collection of codecs and related tools
Lorithad is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: Noob Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Switch View Post
It's your floppy drive.
Post reported. Talldude back from being banned. Haxorz

[/sarcasm]
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Noob Question

install your video drivers
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 05:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 05:42 PM
Question about Torrent files KingAustin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-15-2007 10:58 PM
Speaker Question pukgandi Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 04-14-2007 09:32 PM
New Firefox Question jason74 Internet Software and Browsers 2 04-10-2007 09:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.