Is my computer 5.1 compatible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2006, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Is my computer 5.1 compatible?

Hi, I have a very limited knowledge about computers but one thing I do know is that I need some new speakers. I found some I like which are these

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Logitech-X-5...093230?ie=UTF8

which I think are 5.1 speakers. I understand that this means you need some kind of a driver in order to use all of the speakers. I have a laptop (Asus M5N) which has an internal sound card driver thing of some kind, which is a Soundmax Integrated Audio 5.12.01.4010 - is there any way I can tell whether this is 5.1 compatible?

I don't want to have to buy a new soundcard. When I looked on the soundmax website, it seemed to say that if I used a codec AD1980 then I would be able to use 5.1, however, I could not figure out where to get this codec from (or whether it was a physical thing, or a downloadable thing (which is what I had assumed it would be, having downloaded codecs in the past)).

I hope my question makes vague sense. I would be really grateful for some help with what is probably an incredibly dumb question.

Many many thanks in advance

Jane
__________________

jane2 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Actually your problem is quite simple, get an external 5.1 sound card because your laptop doesn't have a compatible one. I've already look over your laptop's spec

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=2463

Simply get one of these.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102174

Install the driver's and software from it, and plug in your speakers. That's it.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks so much for that. Does the external sound card have extra plugs for me to plug the lines from the speakers into? I understand that 5.1 speakers have a few more wires than I can currently plug into my laptop (which just has a headphone socket)? Are the sockets actually on the card..?
jane2 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Yes it does, conventional 5.1 speakers have 3 plugs, the card uses a USB to connect to your computer and it has 3 other color or wording coordinated plugs for the 5.1 speaker.
Law is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

If you don't want to shell out the extra bucks, you can use a three way headphone splitter and then have "fake" surround sound but I assume you want the real thing.
computerwiz_222 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 04:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Default

three way headphone splitter.
bit new for me.
Whats that.
__________________

deelip is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.