Musings

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbcohen

Banned
I have been listening to music for many years and was musing the other day about how far music recordings have come in my life time. When I first started out there were turntables only and one never picked one up for fear of scratching the records and certainly never hung from your belt. While I was listening a transition was made to tapes, which eliminated the scratching problem and one could hang a player from your belt if you did not mind your pants hitting the floor, the newer ones were a bit better but still a bit big and one certainly did not put the player in his/her pocket. Since I left the music seen all those years ago a transition was made to CDs then to MP3s, So there is a bit of techno shock when I returned to the music seen a few months ago. These little things are really tiny compared to those tape decks I used to wear and the sound, amazing.

Ahh your still a youngin mate. ;) I remember 8Track tapes. The Mono sound they delivered. the huge cartridge that they were. The mammoth players they had. Then i remember the conversion to LP's. The 78's and 45's. Cassette and CD and now MP3 players. Yeah. It has been a long journey.

I do recall an 8 track tape. My uncle took me for a ride in his new car and handed me this huge tape and claimed it to be the wave of the future. The sound from those things were terrible, never really liekd them much. Don't recall anything before the 8 track though, I am not old enough to recall anything before that.

8 Track was the first thing i remember in audio. Mono sound. My how bad those things were. :laughing: