laptop to TV

Status
Not open for further replies.
Depends on the laptop. Most laptops have an S-video output that you can use to connect to your TV's S-video input (if it has one). Some newer laptops have a 7-pin S-video output that also provides Composite or Component video (in addition to S-video) using special adapters that utilize the extra pins in the S-video port. If your laptop doesn't have an S-video port, you'll probably have to use a VGA to composite or component adapter, which can be expensive. If your laptop is new and has HDMI, then you can hook it to HDTV's and get good quality, if your TV has VGA, you can use that too.

hahaha. what??? sory im just a complete noob.anyway thanks. i'll do some research on whatever you've said and will try and figure it out.

cheers

most laptops have a port for S-Video. This is how it looks:

s-video_PC.JPG

You need an adapter cable with S video on one end and TV input (SCART) on the other end. Don't forget to plug in audio cables, too or it gonna be picture there and sound from the lappy only ;)

Depends where you live. Europe (England?) uses SCART, here in America, TV's just have S-Video ports on them (look like the pic above). If your laptop and TV both have that port, get an S-Video cord from your local electronics retailer. Just plug the S-Video cord between your laptop and TV. You should get the laptop screen to come up on the TV. The S-Video cord ONLY CARRIES VIDEO INFORMATION, so you won't get sound out of it. The sound will come out of the laptop's speakers. If this isn't good enough, you can get a 3.5mm Minijack to RCA Stereo cable. It has the standard "headphone plug" on one end (plug into your laptop's headphone port) and the other end will have red and white (or red and black on some cords) connectors to hook the the red and white inputs on the TV.

If your TV has THESE inputs:
composite-jack.jpg