How do I use speakers for pc and ipod when off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-15-2005, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default How do I use speakers for pc and ipod when off

HI,

Sorry if this is a complete noob question. I have SB LIve 5.1 (yes I know that's a bit old) along with Desktop Cambridge 5.1 Dtt200 speakers (yes I know that's old too). Anyways they both work fine, however I would like to know how to use the speakers to play from my iopd when it is off, while still connected to my pc. The speakers use 3 cables and so they only 2 left open in the back of the SB are one for microphone and the other for a line in. Is there a device or something I can buy? I want to be able to play music from my ipod without turning my computer on.

Old 09-15-2005, 11:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Systems Engineer

Send a message via AIM to Crysalis

you would have to unplug the speakers from your computer and plug it into your ipod.

Old 09-16-2005, 01:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

With all due respect, I hope you were kidding. I obviously am aware of that, I wanted to know how to accomplish this, without having to constantly unplug the wires. Is there a device or converter that would enable me to do it that way.
Old 09-16-2005, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie

Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy

buy a 1/8" stereo splitter, so that you have two ins for the one cable. You'll add noise to the line and decrease volume a little bit, but it'll work.

Realistically, the best (quality-wise) option is to just unplug the line every time you want to use the iPod.

But for the splitter, go to Radioshack. It'll be under $5 for the gold-plated version. Just be sure to know what you're getting exactly.
Old 09-17-2005, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Systems Engineer

Send a message via AIM to Crysalis