Hooking up console to PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2008, 01:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Hooking up console to PC

Hello,

I was just experimenting and I dunno if I'm doing it wrong or if it's just not possible with the equipment that I have, but I'm trying to hook up my Wii to my PC so that I can play it on my monitor (an Acer X193W 19" flatscreen).

My video card is a GeForce 9800 something or the other (Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N975-AR GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards) and I have an s-video cable...one end goes into the video card, and the other end has female Red, Green, and Blue RCA connectors. I tried just hooking my Wii's component cables into one end of the s-video cable and putting the other end into the video card, and then toying with my display settings, but I couldn't find how to change my input.

Does anyone know how I can (or if it's even possible to) get my Wii to display on my monitor?

Thanks,

Chuck
__________________

__________________
eMan2718281828 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Does your monitor have a s-video in or composite.? You can connect the Wii directly to your monitor bypassing the computer. Then depending upon your speakers you can directly hook those up as well.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

buy a capture card. video cards output, not input
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

No...it does not, unfortunately...I looked for that already. Only the video card has an s-video jack.
__________________
eMan2718281828 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by eMan2718281828 View Post
No...it does not, unfortunately...I looked for that already. Only the video card has an s-video jack.

umm...

exactly. a svideo out that go to tv inputs
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
buy a capture card. video cards output, not input
EricB is correct. You either need a capture card or directly hook the Wii into your monitor.

Make sure you do not do this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by computer newbie View Post
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 10:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

FYI - TV cards are AWFUL for gaming on. I have two of them, a PCI one for my desktop (older ATi one), and a newer HP branded Hauppauge WinTV ExpressCard one for my laptop. They are great for watching/recording TV on your PC.

They are horrible for gaming. Why? Lag time. TV tuners take time to convert the analog signal into a digital signal, send it to the processor, feed it to the video card, convert it back to analog, and feed it to your monitor. That introduces a fair bit of delay. For TV this doesn't matter, the frame rate is still smooth and the audio/video sync is still fine, it's just the timing of the picture and sound are delayed from the input.

The problem is, with games you need real-time capability, otherwise you won't be able to react to things in the game. This is especially noticeable in games like Guitar Hero that are based entirely around precise timing.

Although the picture quality isn't as good as you might get with a good TV card, I suggest a converter box. I got a cheaper one called "Video Game Jockey" from Newegg. The picture isn't great, but it is playable and the timing is near instantaneous, I calibrated lag on GH3 with it and came out with 0ms, a perfectly timed system. This is because it is direct analog-to-analog conversion which doesn't have the problems associated with digital conversion that PC tuners have.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 11:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
FYI - TV cards are AWFUL for gaming on. I have two of them, a PCI one for my desktop (older ATi one), and a newer HP branded Hauppauge WinTV ExpressCard one for my laptop. They are great for watching/recording TV on your PC.

They are horrible for gaming. Why? Lag time. TV tuners take time to convert the analog signal into a digital signal, send it to the processor, feed it to the video card, convert it back to analog, and feed it to your monitor. That introduces a fair bit of delay. For TV this doesn't matter, the frame rate is still smooth and the audio/video sync is still fine, it's just the timing of the picture and sound are delayed from the input.

The problem is, with games you need real-time capability, otherwise you won't be able to react to things in the game. This is especially noticeable in games like Guitar Hero that are based entirely around precise timing.

Although the picture quality isn't as good as you might get with a good TV card, I suggest a converter box. I got a cheaper one called "Video Game Jockey" from Newegg. The picture isn't great, but it is playable and the timing is near instantaneous, I calibrated lag on GH3 with it and came out with 0ms, a perfectly timed system. This is because it is direct analog-to-analog conversion which doesn't have the problems associated with digital conversion that PC tuners have.
it's a little more complicated than that too. tv is stuck at 29fps. they had to drop a frame per second when color came out to make it compatible with black and white. not allowing Tv to increase frames was the primary reason we had such a horrible picture for all of these years. computer games move at a much faster rate
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 12:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Yeah, a computer game can run at 60+FPS depending on monitor, refresh rate, graphics card, etc.

TV signals are limited to 30fps (29.97 to be exact), movies being at 24fps. A TV capture card will usually capture at 30fps (if it can, sometimes CPU lag will drop frames).

However, he's talking about hooking a video game system up to a monitor. A video game system is designed to output those 29fps TV signals, so that's what you'll get out of one. The frame rate isn't the main problem with TV cards for games (they're smooth enough to play, just the latency is bad).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 04:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Hooking up console to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Yeah, a computer game can run at 60+FPS depending on monitor, refresh rate, graphics card, etc.

TV signals are limited to 30fps (29.97 to be exact), movies being at 24fps. A TV capture card will usually capture at 30fps (if it can, sometimes CPU lag will drop frames).

However, he's talking about hooking a video game system up to a monitor. A video game system is designed to output those 29fps TV signals, so that's what you'll get out of one. The frame rate isn't the main problem with TV cards for games (they're smooth enough to play, just the latency is bad).


whatever. why do everybody turn everything here into a peeing match? I was just agreeing with you with why you shouldn't use a tv tuner card to play games and adding a little more info to it and now we are playing a game of my balls is bigger than yours. I'm not in the mood. I'm tired of arguing with all of these young "know it all'er" since I'm always wrong

it's a latency and frame per second issue, because it just doesn't keep up even when you factor in the lag time.

eMan2718281828 I don't really game that much so I was giving you a simple answer. everybody else here seem to think that playing games on a capture card is fine. I've been telling them for 5 years not to do it, but it's the new craze.

if you want to avoid this issue entirely and your wii had hdmi ports, buy a hdmi to dvi adapter. you will have to route your sound to something else like a receiver, because dvi is basically hdmi without audio. then you can bypass the computer, keep high resolution and speed
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC vs Console - CPU and Graphics NightSurge New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-07-2008 09:54 AM
Hooking up consoles to media center PCs Aesrin Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 09-27-2007 02:33 PM
Virtual Console Calculator dbzlotrfan Nintendo 4 09-16-2007 09:15 PM
""10 Reasons Why PS3 Will Win This Console Generation" - Insomniac Games Chief Creati TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 97 07-12-2007 06:52 AM
Creating partition in Recovery Console Redvers Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-21-2007 05:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.