HI 8 to Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2004, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Exclamation HI 8 to Computer

I have a Sony CCD-TRV318 HI 8 camcorder, and i was wondering what would i need or how would i hook it up thru my computer to burn my movies to a CD?
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You would need some kind of video capture device. I have this one and find that it works pretty good:

http://www.adstech.com/products/USBA...p?pid=USBAV701
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
You would need some kind of video capture device. I have this one and find that it works pretty good:
How does my video camera hook up to it? Will i need to buy a special cable?
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 12:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

The one I have just uses RCA cables from the camera, then USB to the pc.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 11:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

How much did yours cost?
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 12:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

$129.95 CAD at Staples.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

cool thanx, i'll try it.
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to duffsterLP
Default

I tried a USB cable but it only worked for transfering pictures. You need to buy firewire:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...onics&n=507846


or you can use RCA through USB:
http://www.atacom.com/program/print_...DV&USER_ID=www

It depends on the outputs of your camcorder.
__________________

__________________
duffsterLP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.