GH5 editing 10bit files in DaVinci Resolve - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2019, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default GH5 editing 10bit files in DaVinci Resolve

Hi just chasing some help regarding the GH5ís 10bit files.

Iím having real trouble in the editing phase with these files. Firstly my computer ( IMAC 21.5/3.0QC/8GB/1TB/RP555) , VLC or Davinci Resolve doesnít read them. I did transcode the files to ProRes however both my computer and media players still struggled to play the file, with severe lag and stoppage.

Davinci Resolve would read the transcoded ProRes file however playback was almost impossible on my timeline. Even after optimizing media and creating proxies and reducing playback quality to 50%, it still struggled to playback in my timeline which made editing impossible.

Am I missing something? Didnít think it would be this difficult to utilize the 10bit recording feature of the GH5.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
texy_1601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 06:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
AR ML AI <3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 8,946
Default Re: GH5 editing 10bit files in DaVinci Resolve

Sounds like it may just be due to lack of performance. Your iMac only has 8GB of RAM, and it doesn't have the best CPU or GPU either. I am assuming these are 4K files ?. I would expect you to be able to edit 1080P (though the lack of RAM might still make it a little painful), but if you are trying to edit 4K you need a strong PC to do it without performance issues.
__________________

__________________

AMD Ryzen 2700X
Corsair RGB Pro 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz
EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
WD Blue 250GB SSD / WD Blue M2 500GB SSD / SanDisk 240GB SSD / Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
WD Black 2TB HDD
Asus Crosshair VII Hero X470
Seasonic 860w Platinum PSU
Corsair 750D ATX Tower
Sony Bravia X900F 49" 4K HDR Monitor

kmanmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,993
Default Re: GH5 editing 10bit files in DaVinci Resolve

10bit 4k at a high bitrate, yup def gonna be performance.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to resolve problems...(LOG files) gula187 HijackThis Logs (finished) 7 01-30-2009 07:31 AM
Question on hex editing, and yes the thing I am editing is free for editing. cannotcompute Programming 12 01-28-2007 05:32 PM
How do UNIX clients resolve names? chesman Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 03-21-2004 01:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.