Distinct sound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default Distinct sound

I don't know much when it comes to sound aside form knowing what sound I like and what sound I don't like, so treat me like a newbie who. If you feel the urge to laugh and explain things to me like to a child... I have no problem with that either (it might even be of benefit to me)

How do I get my speakers to play that distinct theatre sound (dolby digital, dts, thx?) That earth shaking, hollow, very unrealstic sound that sets the THX certified theatres (and home theatres) apart from all other audio.

I have SB Live! on one computer, Audigy 2 ZS on another and the Logitech Z-2300 speaker set.

Is this hardware sufficient? Which DVDs do I need to get?
__________________

__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

LOL anybody?
__________________

__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 12:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Ever seen a movie theater sound system?Do you or could you have that in your house?

It would probably make my neighbors call the police.

Your basic hardware is fine, add about 20,000watts and a couple racks of commercial quality speakers and you'd be all set.

I used to work at the nationwide arena, their sound system for example takes up a small room, thats just amps,tuner,mixer,and preamp........its connected to a huge group of speakers suspended from the rafters.

The THX cert isnt just quality, but volume and acoustics as well, doubtful your going to be able to pull that off in a house or apartment.
__________________
horndude is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it's possible if you can get you hands on some older yamaha (dsp1000 dsp a1000)or lexicon processors (CP1 or CP3). you can manually set every varible. they come as close as you can get to the real thing
__________________
EricB is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

You most likely misunderstood what I was asking for.

What I was asking for was the audio quality of the theatre, not the precise reproduction of the sound and power. Obviously I can't cram 20.000watts of power in my house, but there has got to be hardware/software out there (and I can't believe that it is hard to find too) to achieve this. I know this because I heard the same sound from at least two home theatre systems and one computer speaker system (I believe it was the Klipsch Promedia ULTRA 5.1) in BestBuy or some other retail store (if I remembered, I wouldn't post this thread in the first place).
__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 04:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

get you a 7.1 reciever, some nice speakers and hook your computer up to it

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...981#post279981
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

But can I just hook up a reciever to my current set? Is the minimum of 5.1 format required? Because I really don't want to expand my computer audio to that level (no space in the room).
__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 10:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

bump
__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 01:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

to get the quality that you want, you are going to have to sacafice something
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 01:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
to get the quality that you want, you are going to have to sacafice something
Which is?
__________________

__________________
kavalaton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.