Burning Media Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Question Burning Media Issues

hi mate,no point in me putting post in general help no one helps,your the man i have a dell 1545 inspiron laptop,and noticed it had roxio on it so i went c:\programm files roxio,and deleted everything,but my problem is that when i am burning movies,say the movie is an 1hr 58min long,nero is doing it in 58mins,i take it thats because i have 2 processors,but when i go to watch the movie it has awkward and long pauses in it,i have had the same result with convertx,and when using nero i am burning 8x,in device manager,i have noticed yellow triangle,next to microsoft6to4 adapter,when i go to update the driver,it says best driver is installed and up to date,i dont think this is the problem with my burning,but you know better than me.
thank you in advance
__________________

hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: hi guys

Sorry but you are not making your self very clear, are you just having problems burning CD's and DVD's?
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: hi guys

i have sorted the microsoft 6to4 adapter,i now just have a problem with burning,now say a movie was 1hr 48mins when i goto burn it,it does it in 48mins,i am no expert,but i think thats because i have 2 processors,or am i wrong,the films start ok then 10 mins in it pauses i wait for 5min it plays again,and the graphics are all messed up on the screen
hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: hi guys

Do you mean you have a dual core processor or that you have two physical processors, eitherway that would not hinder the burning of media to a disk.

What software are you using to burn the disk?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: hi guys

The number of Processors is not really relevant. As using a Dual Core or Quad Core CPU for movie conversion would take less time than the actual movie itself. This is because a movie conversion at this time is mainly a CPU related process. So having a Dual Core or Quad Core CPU will reduce the time needed to convert since all cores will work on the conversion.

It just sounds like the burn is getting corrupted. Try reinstalling Nero and Convertx.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: hi guys

i have intel dual core,and i am using nero,i am also getting faults with convertx,i had roxio installed on this dell 1545,when i bought it,so i removed it as i tried it on xp,on my old computer and i had to do a full reinstall of my xp,it messed up everything,hence the reason why i removed it and its nero8 mate
hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Re: hi guys

holy run-on sentence batman!
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: hi guys

i have already done unistall and reinstall off both,but what i have noticed looking on the underside of the disc when burn is complete,there is no mark,as with burninig with my old computer,there was a circular mark which went in about 5mm,from the outer edge of the disc.
hollyoaks777 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 05:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: hi guys

Try burning at the slowest speed. What kind of discs are you using?

Also, don't use Nero...it just plain sucks. Use ImgBurn, or one of the many other free burning tools.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 03:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: hi guys

verbatim, how do you do that image thing you are talking about mate
__________________

hollyoaks777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista SP1 Windows Media Center TV Pack Makes Search for TV Content Useless KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-21-2008 10:33 PM
Log From Jenny's Computer Fat.Clown HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 12-27-2007 09:58 PM
Confused about getting Media Center... Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-25-2007 07:22 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.