ASPI Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Question ASPI Problems

None of my CD burning software will work. I had constant problems with Nero 6.0 and I finally gave up and uninstalled it. I updated my ASPI layer and followed advice for all the fixes for XP included deleting wowpost.exe and winaspi.dll.

Then I checked my registry and found a difference in the posted fix and what my registry said. In front of all the values below...I have a 0x before the value and then a number following (01) or (02).

Here is the posted fix:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\ASPI32]
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000002
"Type"=dword:00000001

Mine says:

"ErrorControl"=dword:0x00000001 (01)
"Start"=dword:0x00000002 (2)

Could this be a problem?

HELP! I am running out of CD-r's and patience.
__________________

__________________
Gailie is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Hmmmm do you have more than one (or had more than one!) burning prog installed ESPECIALLY anything by ROXIO or a packet writer for CDRW's like InCD?

Is your CDRW drive visible in My Computer and Device Manager?
__________________

__________________
roho is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default

At one time or another I've tried several burning programs. Doesn't InCD come with Nero? Nero 6.0 was just one not stop error for me so I uninstalled it.

And there have been times when my CD burner disappears from My computer. It's visible at the moment, however.

I've tried the Windows fix and also tried changing the ASPI drivers both upgrading and reverting to older versions. I cannot complete a burn whether it's a copy or a new audio compilation. I get about 90% and the burn fails.

Any ideas?
__________________
Gailie is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I just tried to burn another one with new CD-r's (different brand) and once again received a burn failed message only this time it said "the driver has reported a hardware failure."
__________________
Gailie is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Just a thought..
I had a problem similar to that, and it was from a corrupt hard drive. The hard drive sent information in the wrong way because it was close to dying. Maybe check event viewer and see if anything about warnings on the "Disk0". I tried to burn the same DVD 5 times, got a new hard drive, and it worked immediately.
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Okay, do you have any error codes in Event Viewer (codes 19, 31, 32 or 39?).
__________________
roho is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, I wasn't even aware of event viewer. Here are some of the errors I found... What does a bad block mean?

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Cdrom
Event Category: None
Event ID: 7
Date: 6/14/2004
Time: 9:44:11 AM
User: N/A
Computer: OFFICE
Description:
The device, \Device\CdRom0, has a bad block.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Event Type: Error
Event Source: sr
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1
Date: 6/14/2004
Time: 9:59:07 AM
User: N/A
Computer: OFFICE
Description:
The System Restore filter encountered the unexpected error '0xC0000001' while processing the file '' on the volume 'HarddiskVolume2'. It has stopped monitoring the volume.

The above must be why I am unable to use system restore. I'm just not sure what's going on here.
__________________

__________________
Gailie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.