A2zs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2006, 06:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

All the soundcard does is provide a signal for the amplifier to amplify ...
__________________

__________________
The General is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 06:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Nope, it has it's own opamp (more than one in the case of a decent sound card). If you had a sound card with no opamps, and just line level outputs (there are sound cards like this, mine for example), your speakers would not work without an external amp, unless the speakers have an amp built in, as some computer speakers do.

If you have a line level output then you would want the volume at maximum (+0dB). When you lower or raise volume on a sound card with an opamp(s) the amplification level is simply changed. You can not "lower" the volume of a line level output, because it is already +0dB. When you "lower" the volume of a line level output, since it can not go lower, the digital signal is simply attenuated which causes a drop in bit depth, and lowers that quality of sound.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 08:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Nope ... If you had a sound card with no opamps, and just line level outputs (there are sound cards like this, mine for example), your speakers would not work without an external amp, unless the speakers have an amp built in, as some computer speakers do.
So really, you mean "Yep" because you say no, then spew out a prime example of what I said that you disagreed with.

COOL.
__________________
The General is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 08:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Umm, what? Are you talking about when I said some speakers have an amp built in? Some do. You were saying that sound cards do not do any amping, they do, but poorly. If they didn't, those speakers (and headphones) that you just plug into the sound card and do not plug into the wall would not work.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

you guys have each other confused - read each others posts again from the beginning
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 01:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 339
Default

Never have master volume over 80%
__________________
DarkMortar is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea, that sorted it. i have the master on 50% at the moment and the speakers a bit louder and it is fine.

cheers people.
__________________

__________________
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.