5 questions about connection from my computer to my HDTV.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Computer Audio and Multimedia
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2007, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Question 5 questions about connection from my computer to my HDTV....

1) i have TV-Out that works, but looks like ****, but i was wondering if my HDTV is suppose to have a DVI-I plug in the back? Because my computer has DVI-I too.

if so, then im screwed then, my (family) HDTV is a Sony WEGA 55-inch 1080i HDTV, 2 HDMI inputs, 2 component, 4 S-video --- November 2004 --- n i dont see any DVI-like inputs in the back just HDMIs.

2) is there a DVI-I connector where DVI-I to HDMI (DVI-I one end, HDMI the other)?


HDCP: control digital audio and video content as it travels across Digital Visual Interface (DVI) or High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) connections.

3) Controls audio n video content as it travels across DVI or HDMI, how does it control it?

4) Is it different then a connection from a graphics card to the HDTV without HDCP?

5) How could i tell the difference in playing PC games?


I am planning on getting the ATI R600 due to come out January 22nd *not Vista Ultimate yet, sry guys* n it is rumored, from Wikipedia.org, that it will have DVI or HDMI connector featuring HDCP --- when i get the money that is --- .
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Your HDTV isn't supposed to have DVI-I inputs, but some do. My HDTV has two DVI, VGA, HDMI, two componant, and the other inputs that don't matter (composite, S-video etc...)

Not all HDTV's have inputs like these, so that's why you should have checked that it had these input before you bought it.

You could get a DVI -> HDMI adapter, but I can't guarantee any better results with that, as HDMI only supports a few resolutions, so if your TV has a native resolution of 1366x768, you could only set it to 1280x720, etc (the "HD" resolutions).

HDCP is just encryption, that's how it controls it. Control as in "you can't record it" ... control as in DRM. Control as in "Nazi Germany." The difference comes in whether or not you can record it. DVI and HDMI have the exact same pin-outs, but HDMI has two more for audio. HDMI quite literally is just rearranged DVI with coax digital combined, it's nothing special.

I don't know about you, but I prefer an unencrypted data stream over an encrypted data stream, unless I am the one who encrypts it.

"HD" = high resolution

If your computer monitor is 1280x1024, it's higher "HD" than most HDTV's which are 1280x720. You won't notice a difference in games, other than the fact that your HDTV is bigger than your computer monitor.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Your HDTV isn't supposed to have DVI-I inputs, but some do. My HDTV has two DVI, VGA, HDMI, two componant, and the other inputs that don't matter (composite, S-video etc...)

Not all HDTV's have inputs like these, so that's why you should have checked that it had these input before you bought it.

You could get a DVI -> HDMI adapter, but I can't guarantee any better results with that, as HDMI only supports a few resolutions, so if your TV has a native resolution of 1366x768, you could only set it to 1280x720, etc (the "HD" resolutions).

HDCP is just encryption, that's how it controls it. Control as in "you can't record it" ... control as in DRM. Control as in "Nazi Germany." The difference comes in whether or not you can record it. DVI and HDMI have the exact same pin-outs, but HDMI has two more for audio. HDMI quite literally is just rearranged DVI with coax digital combined, it's nothing special.

I don't know about you, but I prefer an unencrypted data stream over an encrypted data stream, unless I am the one who encrypts it.

"HD" = high resolution

If your computer monitor is 1280x1024, it's higher "HD" than most HDTV's which are 1280x720. You won't notice a difference in games, other than the fact that your HDTV is bigger than your computer monitor.
alright cool, thx for the example of HDCP, because me n my friend were not sure about it either, i couldnt even explain it to him lol. Thx for the info!

i did find out last week online that monitors give better resolution then the HDTVs out right now, but ive seen better at CES 2007. Is this true? Are monitors better then HDTVs? What kind of monitors? If so, how?

if u can answer me this, then i will be thrilled .

as for the HDTV i got, like i said in parentheses, it is a family TV n i wasnt there when we bought it; Nov. '04 was when it was made, plus, i was a stupid teenager n a dumb geek. IF i knew about computers n stuff, then we might of gotten one with DVIs, but now that i know i need a DVI-I adapter (for monitor) n a HDMI adapter for the HDTV.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 01:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wildside
alright cool, thx for the example of HDCP, because me n my friend were not sure about it either, i couldnt even explain it to him lol. Thx for the info!

i did find out last week online that monitors give better resolution then the HDTVs out right now, but ive seen better at CES 2007. Is this true? Are monitors better then HDTVs? What kind of monitors? If so, how?

if u can answer me this, then i will be thrilled .

as for the HDTV i got, like i said in parentheses, it is a family TV n i wasnt there when we bought it; Nov. '04 was when it was made, plus, i was a stupid teenager n a dumb geek. IF i knew about computers n stuff, then we might of gotten one with DVIs, but now that i know i need a DVI-I adapter (for monitor) n a HDMI adapter for the HDTV.
Well, a 24" LCD is higher resolution than the highest level of HD. They are usually 1920x1200, wheras the highest HD is 1920x1080. 30" LCDs are 2560x1600, which is EVEN higher, but average monitors aren't as high resolution.

To compare them to your HDTV which is probably 1280x720 (720p), most monitors are higher resolution than that, but they don't have HDMI inputs and such, or tuners for that matter, and they aren't big like TV's and such.

Yeah, I understand how that is, though, with the parents and such. I kept telling my father what he needs to look for in an HDTV, and he had a good idea of what he wanted, but in the end he went to Costco and got the cheapest one they had.

But he likes it, so I guess that's all the matters.
The General is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Well, a 24" LCD is higher resolution than the highest level of HD. They are usually 1920x1200, wheras the highest HD is 1920x1080. 30" LCDs are 2560x1600, which is EVEN higher, but average monitors aren't as high resolution.

To compare them to your HDTV which is probably 1280x720 (720p), most monitors are higher resolution than that, but they don't have HDMI inputs and such, or tuners for that matter, and they aren't big like TV's and such.

Yeah, I understand how that is, though, with the parents and such. I kept telling my father what he needs to look for in an HDTV, and he had a good idea of what he wanted, but in the end he went to Costco and got the cheapest one they had.

But he likes it, so I guess that's all the matters.
cool, now i get it thx.

o by the way in case u forgot, my HDTV is 1080i, not 720p. Thx a lot man, u helped me big time.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wildside
cool, now i get it thx.

o by the way in case u forgot, my HDTV is 1080i, not 720p. Thx a lot man, u helped me big time.
No, it's 720p which can accept 1080i signals, then deinterlace and scale them to 720p. 1080i need 1920x1080 pixels, which, if a TV has that many pixels, makes it a 1080p television which didn't start becoming mainstream until about 6 months ago.

But yeah, no problem.
The General is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=181-745

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=181-746
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.