Making a metafile for images? (And a general question about image res) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Technology > Digital Photography and Imaging
Click Here to Login

Old 08-10-2015, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Making a metafile for images? (And a general question about image res)

Hi. I am a total newbie to the tech world. I'm doing image research for a graphic designer and have run into two issues. Any help would be great. Thanks.

1. When I save an image to my computer, I was wondering if there was a way to attach some sort of text file with the link from where I got it. Is there a way to embed this in a jpeg, or to change the file to a format that includes both the text file and the jpeg without degrading the jpeg?

2. I am confused about how image resolution works. Let's say I find a jpeg image online, and I both take a png screenshot and save the image directly to my computer. Then I open both images on Photoshop. I blow up both images so that they appear to be the same size, although the screenshotted image is 1504 x 2000 pixels, and the jpeg 753 x 1000, so I have to blow up the jpeg more than I do the png. I was told that the jpeg is better quality, and that in the png I have actually lost information. However, when I zoom in like this, the png appears to be better quality--it's less crunchy looking. Does this "crunch" I am referring to actually have little to do with image quality, and what exactly makes the jpeg better quality?

Some screengrabs:

png:

jpeg:

Old 08-10-2015, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer

Default Re: Making a metafile for images? (And a general question about image res)

Welcome to TF!