Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2010, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

I've got a 6 channel fan controller. I've got half a mind to pick up a new XSPC 320 Rad to replace my MCR220. Can I control 3 fans on one channel and 3 on another? Or what is the recommended setup for the Radiator fans??
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

Can we have some specs on the fan controller?

But most likely as long as your fans are not extreme power suckers you should be fine with 3.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

yah, check the specs on your controller, 3 fans on one channel might kill it
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn View Post
yah, check the specs on your controller, 3 fans on one channel might kill it
Meh, I ran all 6 stock fans in my 1200 on a cheap $5 fan controller for close to 6 months, till it died. Now I am running them off of my mobo, so that's the next thing to die I'm sure.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 09:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

^^ It's a Zalman 6 Channel fan controller.. I'm running 4 cheapo fans right now that max out pretty easily. If I were to get 6 Yate Loon fans and split em between two channels.. -Push Pull for the rad.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Ltd-_-11999171
Quote:
Color: Black
6 Channel Multi Fan Controller
Comprehensive Control of Cooling Performance and Noise
Aluminum Front Panel for Maximum Aesthetic Quality
Fast & Easy Access to Fan RPM Control
Color & Intensity Variable LEDs for Simple Monitoring of Fan Speed

Maximum power 7.0W per channel
Input voltage 12VDC
Output voltage 5VDC - 11VDC 5%
Here's the specs on Yate loons: Volts x Amps = Watts... 12 x .30 = 3.6watts . 7 W/channel max 2 fans would be 7.2W. But Y/L doesn't list Amp DRAW of the fans.
Quote:
Model: D12SM-12
Dimensions: 120x120x25mm
Rated Voltage: 12 Volts
Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts
Input current: 0.30 Amp Max
Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C
Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C
RPM: 1650 +/- 10%
CFM: 70.5
dB: 33
I think I'll set them up as follows:
1 push, 1 pull > channel 3
1 push 1 pull > Channel 4
1 push 1 pull > channel 5

That way when I up a fan speed the push and pull sides will match. It's set up PUSH on chan 3+4 now and pull on channel 5 + 6. 4 fans on 4 channels.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

Even though yate loons won't draw the total 3.6 watts while operating, when they start up they will use close to that and could potentially fry the controller... I'm not 100% sure on that though
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn View Post
Even though yate loons won't draw the total 3.6 watts while operating, when they start up they will use close to that and could potentially fry the controller... I'm not 100% sure on that though
I don't think those yates use anything near 3.6W, possibly for like 2 seconds at start up, but you should be fine with 3 on a single channel.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 01:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

I'm gonna run 2 fans per channel now. Not 3. I wish I had an Amp Clamp for my multi meter. Gonna see about borrowing one off my uncle. I think if I put the fans at a low setting before I start the computer, it shouldn't draw that much. Too bad I couldn't start them sequentially as to not put such a draw on the controller on start up.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 01:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
I don't think those yates use anything near 3.6W, possibly for like 2 seconds at start up, but you should be fine with 3 on a single channel.
Which is what I said. It doesn't matter how long it uses 3.6w, its still enough to kill the controller.

I saw a debate about an issue similar to this on XS. Ill se if I can find it...
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Stupid fan question..(Controlling 3 on 1 channel?)

I started a thread on XS... I registered there a while ago but never got a confirmation email.. I guess I CAN post.. hmm... Something must have cleared..

Limit for Zalman 6 ch fan controller? - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling video card fan speed memory Overclocking and Modding 10 01-14-2010 04:46 AM
Controlling fan speed? oceanboundtx Overclocking and Modding 7 08-19-2008 02:37 PM
Quick Dual Channel Ram question andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-28-2007 11:03 AM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.