A question for those in the know... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2010, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default A question for those in the know... <SOLVED>

I'm reaching out to the community for help with a question. I have my eyes set on purchasing an EK 5.25" D5 Dual Loop Top, but I'm wondering if it's compatible with the Ek DDC X-Res Top 140. It says compatible with EK MultiOption res tubes, but I also need an EK link which frozencpu doesnt carry. I'd like my order to stay with Frozencpu so that I'm not paying extra for shipping multiple packages from different companies. Thanks in advance for any and all help getting this straightened out. I guess if nothing else, I'll just have to try it and see, though it's a slightly monetarily inconvenient wager to make.

Also I noticed that frozen CPU only carries the Multi-Option Res X2, which the D5 top is not compatible with. Another reason why I am wondering if the DDC res will fit.

D5 Dual Loop Top
EK 5.25" Mountable D5 Dual Loop Top - Black Acetal - Laing D5 / Swiftech MCP650/655 (EK-D5 Dual TOP 2-Loop G1/4 - Black Acetal) - FrozenCPU.com

EK DDC X-Res
EK DDC X-RES Top 140 - Acetal -Laing DDC / Swiftech MCP350/355 - FrozenCPU.com
__________________

__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: A question for those in the know...

I'd say the top will fit your tube. On the EK website it's showing this as an optional tube
EK-Multioption Tube 140mm

And it has the same dimensions as the tube with the DDC X-res Top 140 EK-DDC X-RES 140 - Acetal - Reservoir Pump Combo - Reservoirs & Accessories. It says the tube diameter is 50mm and the multioption-tube linked above is also 50mm.

The EK MultiOption Res X2 Tubes have a diameter of 60mm so that's why they don't fit.
EK-Multioption RES X2 - 250 Basic - Reservoirs - Reservoirs & Accessories
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: A question for those in the know...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I'd say the top will fit your tube. On the EK website it's showing this as an optional tube
EK-Multioption Tube 140mm

And it has the same dimensions as the tube with the DDC X-res Top 140 EK-DDC X-RES 140 - Acetal - Reservoir Pump Combo - Reservoirs & Accessories. It says the tube diameter is 50mm and the multioption-tube linked above is also 50mm.

The EK MultiOption Res X2 Tubes have a diameter of 60mm so that's why they don't fit.
EK-Multioption RES X2 - 250 Basic - Reservoirs - Reservoirs & Accessories
I think that pretty much covers it then. I was at the UK EK site, but didnt even notice the dimension similarities, I was basically guessing at a glance.... Thanks man, very much appreciated for all the help.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Question on burning DVD's *Noob Question*. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2007 02:23 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Vista BETA Question EASY QUESTION? AuThoRitY Microsoft Windows and Software 9 12-21-2005 06:38 PM
Micro mobo question ans set-up question. Dark_Sniper* System Upgrades 0 11-16-2005 10:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.