Are my temps high? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2010, 05:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Actually matt I'm going to have to say bios temps are really quite useless just because not only is it idle but its lower than idle your CPU isn't running an os or any backbround programs its running an 8bit, onboard chip with nothing on it being changed in real time. I don't show the same idle in bios as i do in windows because than the computer is alive with actions rather than waiting for post.

I used to see a 10c or more difference between bios and windows.

His temps sound fine but the heatsink either needs to be remounted or he needs better airflow to see lower temps.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 05:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Usually, in my experience, front intakes don't do much apart from cool the hard drive. If you got two fans on the side for intakes im sure that'll cool it down a fair bit, I changed my airflow today, changed my exhausts on side to intakes and saw a 10c drop for my motherboard and 5c for CPU.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 06:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Are my temps high?

glad to see that helped iPRO
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 02:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Good point Abstract. Didn't think about the OS not running. I would imagine its not that big a draw causing too much heat, but more heat non the less.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Are my temps high?

BIOS temps are not idle. They are 70%~ load.
Ketchup is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 02:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Ketchup, how do u figure 70% load in bios? That seems awful high.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 02:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Ya that makes no sense not gonna lie so please elaborate.

What you'd be saying is that no matter what the speed or how many cores all bios idle at 70% while the computer is hardly doing anything?
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Are my temps high?

The reason for this is because there is no OS for Advanced Power Management to work. This means that there are no idle cycles or stop grant state.

The processor is working hard in BIOS because nothing is telling it how hard to work
It's actually probably even higher than 70%.
It's most definitely NOT idle in BIOS. This is why your temps are always higher in BIOS compared to in windows.

APM was introduced with Windows 2000. Until then, processors were under a big load for even mundane tasks.
Ketchup is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Well then. U have a good explination.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Are my temps high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketchup View Post
This is why your temps are always higher in BIOS compared to in windows.
Fair enough answer considering you answered it logically rather than n00bing it haha but my temps are lower in the bios and I'm almost positive others could say the same.
I'm thinking there might be more to it than night and day perhaps? Some chips I'm sure handle the bios differently. But! I don't understand what a cpu would be loading if it were under load in the bios. (felt funny to say) It hasn't been delegated to perform any tasks and bios options are changed in real time. So what exactly is the cpu doing because it's not doing something with nothing. You can't think without thought.

EDIT: I could not find a single article or forum on this subject otherwise I'd be willing to admit I'm wrong but now with your answer I believe it's a case by case, chip by chip basis.

Took a couple of minutes to check my temps in bios and indeed I am 9c cooler in bios. Thanks to Matts cooler! I read 24-25 in bios and i get 33-34 idle.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu temps high? ChrisG23 New Systems | Building and Buying 32 07-13-2010 07:34 PM
High Temps and didn't OC yet. AzN Overclocking and Modding 6 10-25-2009 12:19 PM
Are my temps too high? Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 27 01-05-2007 08:56 AM
What causes high and low temps Pepsiboy700 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-12-2005 09:34 PM
temps too high? tooltgle Overclocking and Modding 6 08-03-2005 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.