Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2012, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

I just ordered a pair of HD7970s, which I plan on watercooling (I already have my current HD5970s watercooled, so I just need to get new water blocks). Since I have to disassemble the cards (and therefore violate the warranty) to put on the water blocks, I'm going to run the cards on air for a while to make sure the cards don't have any defects. Can anyone tell me how long I should run them before I assume they are "safe"?
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 02-01-2012, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

You only void the warranty if they know you did it

Literally speaking, they don't know you put them under water unless there is a sticker you must break/cut or if you say "Oh hey I had these cards water cooled, can I still get them replaced?".

If there are no warranty stickers over the screws or shroud then you can put them under water day 1. Just install the cards, install the drivers, test to make sure they are ok and working, then pull them out and put the water blocks on.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-01-2012, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

Well, from my experience with breaking apart my previous cards, it is very obvious because the thermal tape that is all over the card "tears" when you pull the card apart. Unless you can color match the company's thermal tape (possible, but a pain in the butt) and replace it in the exact same manner as the 7 year old Chinese kids who build them do it, it's going to show.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 02-01-2012, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

When you RMA they don't go in to detail. Trust me when I say, I have RMA'd tons of things with aftermarket coolers that have been OCd. The reason I am running an i5 right now is because I managed to RMA my burnt one that was phase change cooled, OCed to 4.8 under sub-zero, and took a huge power surge which also fried my RAM and motherboard. Got a shiny new one in 4 days after I had already bought an i3 to tide me over. I sent a 7950GT to XFX once that was dead and it had my modded bios on it and was volt modded (solder). Still got a replacement lol.

From my experience, if you are worried about warranty or RMA then you probably shouldn't do water.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 12:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

I'm screwed then, because I've been on water for a loooooong time

Just being careful.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

Well then get those blocks on! Lol

And don't forget the benchmarks.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 12:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

Most cards I have dealt with recently have a small, very easy to break warranty sticker on the cooler and runs to the PCB. I have broke that sticker many times on cheaper cards by just touching it -.-

Most manufactures don't go into detail, they just put the card on a machine that checks all electrical paths, and powers up the card to see how it is working. Very rarely will they pull a heatsink to check anything as it's time consuming, and pointless. But if they notice any physical abnormal damage such as PCB damage, or pins broken, or something that shouldn't be there that has to be human caused, then they don't bother, they just reject you.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

Lol didn't realize I posted in the wrong thread hahaha.

Anyways, I have never had an ATI card have any kind of stickers or warranty warnings on it. Either way like was said, they don't look that far in to it.

As far as overclocking, 7970s overclock real well and keep cool. I don't think you have too much to worry about.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 08:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

my MSI 6870 has 1 sticker that is half off and the card never really heats up haha... What brand are the 7970's?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 03:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Getting New Graphics Cards... Is There a "Break-In Time" Before I Should Install Water Blocks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
my MSI 6870 has 1 sticker that is half off and the card never really heats up haha... What brand are the 7970's?
MSI.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"All-natural" water chiller gurusan Overclocking and Modding 26 01-04-2008 09:22 AM
3/8" Tubed VGA Water Blocks? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 10-02-2007 07:57 PM
HELP! error "Code 43" with 2 video cards (Nvidia and ATI) in Vista enderokc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-28-2007 11:12 AM
First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." oncearunner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2007 07:17 AM
"SLI Selector cards", "SLI Bridges" whatever you call them... quiq System Upgrades 8 01-23-2006 03:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.