CPU cooling - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2010, 07:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU cooling

That's 55C at full load running Prime95? If that is correct then your good to go

What are your idle temperatures? Low 30's?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 12:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: CPU cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
That's 55C at full load running Prime95? If that is correct then your good to go

What are your idle temperatures? Low 30's?
yes sir, now I am running around 60 full load at 3.6 ghz

anything more and I blue screen lol, I am not very good at this yet though so we will see what happens.



__________________

zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 02:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: CPU cooling

You can probably do better than that, you have a 940 and I have a 930 and I'm running much faster (though your timings are better than mine, need to adjust as I have the same memory as you). I have my 930 at 4103MHz using a 216MHz bus speed and 19x multiplier.

I've read that lowering the multiplier can help and it certainly did in my case, I tried 22, 21, and 20x but 19 worked better to get over 4GHz stable. At 21x I could get 3.8 before crashing and my RAM was running unstable too.

The big issue is voltage. Voltage really makes the difference in stability. My 930 is running 1.296 VCore and 1.31-1.32 QPI at least in the BIOS. It gets around 65C in LinX, hovers at 58-60 in Folding@Home using an H50 water cooling unit with push-pull 75CFM fans. Your CPU-Z shot doesn't show the CPU core voltage which means your motherboard may not support voltage modification. If it doesn't, your overclocking potential is limited. I'm using a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R and it has several voltage settings you can adjust to fine tune your overclock.

The other thing is you have a C Stepping processor while I have a D0. Apparently this makes a difference in overclocking, the D0 chips can overclock farther at a lower voltage. I don't know much about this as I just got into i7 overclocking with my new 930.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 09:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero4o3 View Post
anything more and I blue screen lol
When it blue screens what is the error message and the error code?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 12:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: CPU cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
When it blue screens what is the error message and the error code?
it was late and I was just messing around so I did not write them down I will get back to you with more detail later, but it was something the along the lines of a cpu core failure, I think... I was more interested in seeing what the heat looked like though hehe.

and the MB supports changing core voltage although I have yet to figure out why cpuz does not show voltage maybe its because I just had it set at default (dynamic)
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 06:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: CPU cooling

ok here we go, it says a clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time. and the stop code is 0x00000101 (0x000000000000019, 0x00000000000000000, 0xfffff88002f64180, 0x0000000000000002)
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU cooling

for a 0x00000101 stop code you need to bump your CPU VCore up a notch or 2
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 02:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: CPU cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
for a 0x00000101 stop code you need to bump your CPU VCore up a notch or 2
I will mess with it some more when I get home from work today, thanks for the advice.
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 64
Default Re: CPU cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
for a 0x00000101 stop code you need to bump your CPU VCore up a notch or 2
Stepped it up from 1.17 up to 1.32 still no luck, did more research seems like this 3.7 line where I seem to be stuck at is very common with the 940 in this MB.
zero4o3 is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:37 AM   #20 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: CPU cooling

What is your QPI voltage? The QPI voltage can have a significant effect on overclocking just as much as the core voltage. Also if your chip is a C0 model those are said to need more vcore for high overclocks.

Also, did you try lowering the multiplier?
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Not Cooling Properly? jehjeh3711 Overclocking and Modding 14 05-25-2010 09:19 AM
My DICE Cooling Article. Peter.Cort Cooling 8 05-16-2009 05:08 PM
Guide: Overclocking The i7 H4x3r Overclocking and Modding 17 05-13-2009 12:27 PM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro not lowering CPU temp. from stock cooler youngflyer12 Overclocking and Modding 19 01-10-2008 10:47 PM
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.