8150 Max Temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding > Cooling
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2012, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Hayden13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Hayden13
Default 8150 Max Temps

Hey guys, got yet another question. I recently just purchased a new computer, all specs are available on my profile, and I love it. However there is one thing that has very recently come to my attention. My 8150's temps are getting way too high. It usually idles around 25C-31C, but when I start playing a game (BF3 for instance) temps shoot up to around 65C-70C. I didn't think that this was a big deal considering CoreTemp told me that my Max was 90C, but then I looked up the max on AMD and it says that it shouldn't go over 61C, which is kind of scary because even when running minecraft (yes I know it runs mostly off of the processor) CoreTemp tells me that my processor is at 67C. I also have AI Suite 2 and it also tells me the same temps. I even have water cooling, pretty low end water cooling, but still water cooling. So my question is.. why are my temps so high? What can I do to fix it?
Just in case you don't want to look at my profile my specs are:

Processor: AMD FX-8150 3.60 GHz Eight-Core AM3+ CPU 8MB L2 Cache & Turbo Core Technology
Cooling: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan
I also have one 120MM fan in the top of my case, and a powerful deskfan sitting on top (both as intake)

Links:
AMD 8150 Max Temps Discussion
Can't find any links with AMD 8150 Specs that include max operating temp...

P.S. 2 more things... 1. I won't be able to post any screenshots for about 30mins or about 10:30 AM EST
2. When I am not running even a single application my number of processes is usually in the 80's (only using 0%- 7% of CPU though)
Thanks in advance!
*EDIT* Temps while playing minecraft are 37C-45C
__________________

__________________
CyberPower Build
Windows 7 Home Premium x64-Bit
AMD FX-8150 3.60 GHz Eight-Core 8MB L2 Cache
8.00 GB RAM DDR3/1600MHz
NVIDIA GTX 560 ti 2Gb
Highest Download & Upload Speed
Hayden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: 8150 Max Temps

You're fine. What are the individual core temps that Coretemp is showing?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Hayden13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Hayden13
Default Re: 8150 Max Temps

I can't see the individual temps, just the individual frequencies. Why does AMD say that its max temp is 61C if it's perfectly okay to go over?
__________________
CyberPower Build
Windows 7 Home Premium x64-Bit
AMD FX-8150 3.60 GHz Eight-Core 8MB L2 Cache
8.00 GB RAM DDR3/1600MHz
NVIDIA GTX 560 ti 2Gb
Highest Download & Upload Speed
Hayden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: 8150 Max Temps

I have never seen AMD say anywhere that their max temp is 61c, unless you were reading reviews saying max temp was 61c under load at stock frequencies. The TJ Maxx on most AMD CPU's is actually around 90c and anything under that is technically nominal. Anything under 70c is great depending on ambient temp and air flow in your case. That being said, if any of my CPUs start peaking at 75c I start getting sweat on my brow unless I'm doing suicide runs.

Think of it this way, you have 4 dual modules running at 3.6ghz and people that overclock these things over 4.5ghz. A chip with a stock TDP of 125w. If 61c was the max, the overclocking headroom would be much less. I do think that your temps are a bit high but if they only get that way during stress tests and NOT gaming then I wouldn't worry about it at all.

If you want to try and troubleshoot what I would do is take the heatsink off, clean the base of it and the IHS on the CPU off with 91% rubbing alcohol and q-tips, then reapply a grain of rice sized amount of TIM on the center of the IHS and then remount your heatsink. Yes, I literally mean, the amount of TIM you should put on your CPU is the size of a single grain of rice. Anything more is too much and defeats the purpose.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Hayden13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Hayden13
Default Re: 8150 Max Temps

Thank you, and I found the Webpage, but I think that I'll let my computer be as it is. I had it pre-built by CyberPower and I think that until my warranty has expired, I'm not going to lay a finger on things that I could break. Again, thank you for your help!
__________________
CyberPower Build
Windows 7 Home Premium x64-Bit
AMD FX-8150 3.60 GHz Eight-Core 8MB L2 Cache
8.00 GB RAM DDR3/1600MHz
NVIDIA GTX 560 ti 2Gb
Highest Download & Upload Speed
Hayden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: 8150 Max Temps

Yea that isn't AMD's specification, but rather CPU-World's recommendation. Since it's a prebuilt I would be willing to bet they used the stock cooler which has pre-applied TIM on it and that is always way too much.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, amd 8150, cooling, i love you, liquid cooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over clocking the I5 2500K, Temps on each individual core 79 Celcius, Temps on CPU it's self hit 72. Army198523 Overclocking and Modding 10 09-14-2012 04:31 PM
Max Operating Temperature = CPU Temp or Core Temps? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 2 09-28-2007 07:36 PM
max o.c. Nagasama Overclocking and Modding 5 11-22-2006 07:22 PM
Diode Temps vs Real Temps alecjahn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-03-2004 09:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.