Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks > Netbooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2011, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!!

So, I'm having a little problem finding a solution to this anywhere.What I'm trying to do is control my desktop through my netbook. I'm running Windows 7 on both computers. My objective is to be able to sit on my couch and control my desktop that's hooked up to my big screen over my wireless network. I've tried to use the remote desktop connection tool, but when I use that it signs me out of my desktop and only lets me control the computer through the netbook. I basically want to be able to clone my desktop to my netbook. This may be an insanely simple fix and I'm just not seeing it. Like my name implies, I'm new to stuff like this so if I didn't put this message in the right place please don't freak out. Any help is appreciated!
__________________

t0tal n00b is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,305
Default Re: Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!!

TeamViewer or LogMeIn. Both have lag but should let you do what you want to do.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!!

Yeah, with Windows Remote Desktop, you have to be logged out on the other system. Like Trotter said, those will do what you want to do.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Flint, Michigan
Posts: 7
Default Re: Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!!

VNC viewer is the solution you're looking for. It's a network admin tool, but I've re-purposed it to remote control computers like that which are hooked up to a TV. It does what Remote desktop doesn't. It lets you view the screen on both your desktop and on the netbook. I know windows remote desktop locks the console out when someone logs in remotely.

On your desktop, install VNC server. I set mine up in user mode with no password. I also set up windows to automatically log in. If you do this, you'll want to ensure that a shortcut is placed into your windows startup folder so VNC server starts each time the computer starts. You can also run it as a windows service, but I never went that far.

Then on your netbook, find the VNC client, install, and use that to view the screen remotely on your netbook and control it. That should be all there is to it.

Edit:

Teamviewer and Log me in strike me as being solutions you want to use over remote connections and for VPN type solutions. I would guess they'd lag pretty badly, even if you use them on your local network. They're definitely easier to set up for a total noob than VNC server though.
kly630 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Remote Desktop Connection's Not Cuttin' It HELP!!!!!!

In my experience, you still need to log out on the other system. But I never used VNC server, just the client.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote desktop connection robina_80 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 03-15-2008 04:37 PM
Remote Desktop Connection shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-16-2006 03:13 PM
remote desktop connection help hrowinski Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-22-2006 05:16 AM
What is Remote Desktop Connection? cyclones Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-31-2005 05:50 PM
Remote Desktop Connection BASSMASTER Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-26-2005 09:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.