Netbook for College?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronnie.1

Baseband Member
hey, i am an IT student and my curriculum involves the use of visual studio, dbms and other general programming stuff. i need a good, solid laptop for college work. however, a proper laptop is way out of my budget (which is around $350).

that is why i turned my thoughts to a netbook. is a netbook good enough for general, certification level programming? what config and models should i look at?

any suggestions would be much appreciated :)

Netbooks are generally the same spec wise. Is battery life important to you?

My friend has an msi wind u100 which goes for roughly $350 now

If you need a bigger keyboard look at the hp mini 110.

both are in your price range

If you really want a netbook, I recommend the MSI Wind as well. However, it might be a bit on the weak side if you're an IT student.

With a budget like that, you might want to look at a lower-end laptop like the Compaq CQ60:

Newegg.com - Recertified: COMPAQ Presario CQ60-215DX NoteBook AMD Athlon X2 QL-62(2.00GHz) 15.6" 2GB Memory 250GB HDD 5400rpm DVD Super Multi NVIDIA GeForce 8200M

Compaq is a decent brand, and it'll be more powerful than a netbook.

You could also try Dell.com or HP.com, or other computer brands, as most will offer student discounts.

I use a MSI Wind for college and it has been great. I have been much happier with it than I was with the 14" Compaq it replaced and I actually think the MSI is easier to work on despite it's smaller screen and keyboard. It will run MS Office 07 and Visual Studio 2005 without a problem however it isn't the best at multitasking.

The advantages of going with a netbook in you price rage is you will generally get better battery life, a higher quality display (The Wind's display is particularly good), and better build quality (although that will vary from brand to brand).