Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks > Netbooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2011, 05:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Click the "Disk Image" radio button, then click on the button with the "..." and browse to where the Memtest86+ ISO is. Select your flash drive's drive letter from the drop down box next to Type: USB Drive, then click OK.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Did all that the program loads from boot just fine. I select memtest from the menu and it says "Invalid kernel image" or something like that.
__________________

theopfor is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Gonna have to use the one that says its for USB drives:
http://www.memtest.org/download/4.20....installer.zip

Run the file, and go through the setup. Forgot they have that now.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Same kernel image problem.
theopfor is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

You shouldn't be getting a kernel image problem when you run the auto-installer. Did you pick the option to reformat the flash drive when installing it on there? Are you sure you're booting off of the correct USB device?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Found out I didn't need Unetbootin I just needed the memtest and boot it from BIOS. Ran memtest and no errors after one pass then I bumped the wrong button and the computer booted on Windows. Still registers as 1GB of RAM.
theopfor is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Wait at least 2 passes. Doesn't find everything in one pass. The best option would set it to run all night.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

What do I do if I find something bad? Send it back to Crucial?
theopfor is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Yeah, RMA it. It's not your fault their RAM is faulty.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Acer Aspire One Netbook 532h Crucial RAM

Ok then. Tonight my computer will be running memtest and tommorow if anything bad comes up RMA it. Thanks!
__________________

theopfor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi issues in the UK - Acer Aspire One netbook - I'm stumped! pdoodley Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 07-11-2011 06:43 PM
Acer Aspire 4820 HELP! TheHumanComputer Laptops and Notebooks 2 06-26-2011 03:58 PM
Acer Aspire Timeline overlord20 Laptops and Notebooks 2 07-01-2009 10:48 AM
Acer Aspire 4520 ClayKann101 Laptops and Notebooks 6 04-05-2009 07:01 PM
I am getting an Acer Aspire One Harper Laptops and Notebooks 14 12-11-2008 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.