Where can I learn programming online?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bomb Toaster

Solid State Member
Well, I want to learn programming, but I'm only a sophomore in high school, so I don't have any programming classes available to me.
Due to this, I need to learn programming online, but I don't really know where to look.

If anyone has any programming learning sites to recommend, please tell me. Thanks! :D

Best thing to do, start with Visual Basic language and get a lecture book off of eBay or something. Most VB courses or books have very good step-by-step instructions in the book for getting your feet wet. Once you've finished a basic VB book, you can do an advanced VB book. Once you are done with that, you are pretty much ready to tackle languages like Java or C which do not have a built in visual editor but are more in depth and more commonly used today.

free online college courses

Stanford School of Engineering - Stanford Engineering Everywhere

courses
SEE programming includes one of Stanford's most popular engineering sequences: the three-course Introduction to Computer Science taken by the majority of Stanford undergraduates, and seven more advanced courses in artificial intelligence and electrical engineering.

Introduction to Computer Science
Programming Methodology CS106A
Programming Abstractions CS106B
Programming Paradigms CS107

Artificial Intelligence
Introduction to Robotics CS223A
Natural Language Processing CS224N
Machine Learning CS229

Linear Systems and Optimization
The Fourier Transform and its Applications EE261
Introduction to Linear Dynamical Systems EE263
Convex Optimization I EE364A
Convex Optimization II EE364B

To learn about Stanford Engineering graduate education and professional certification delivered online, please visit the Stanford Center for Professional Development.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License.