VB and video files - help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

id_slave

Beta member
Hi everyone!

Just started taking my first steps with Visual Basic and I want to take a shot at making a CBT application. I've acquired VB Express 2008 and although i have some *basic* programming knowledge from several years back, it all seems pretty new to me at this time :)

So here's a list of questions i have for you guys, any help with them would be greatly appreciated!

1. I need to use a video format that cannot be played back with any widespread media player (*glares at VLC*) or, barring that, an encryption that dissallows the viewer from directly playing the video files.

2. From what I've gathered from browsing at several forums, there is normal support for videos in "standard" formats (for example .avi and .wmv) - however, there is no mention of any other "non-standard" formats, such as, say, .3gp. What would i need to use in order to play that sort of file through my application? a separate SDK?

3. Is there an easy way to package several movies into a single file and then access a particular movie for playback? I'm having games in mind, where there's a single 1GB file that contains several files at once.

So, help a n00b out? cheers :D

I think you would be wise to beef up your programming skills before trying to tackle video encoding. Encrypting files is not difficult, though.

Yeah, i sure do, I just figured i needed a headstart first, to set me on the right path so to speak. Any suggestions on where to look up for any solutions to my problems?

open source may give clues

media player classic is open source. looks like its c++ tho

Much appreciated, I'll look into it right away!

Ditto. Walk slowly, then think about running later.

True enough, but imo it's preferable to have a general goal and gradually move toward it while staying focused on that goal, than make multiple versions of, say, pac-man and eventually miss the point entirely