total NOOB wants to learn how to program...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes it does. Sadly it does.

I agree that it does too, for VB, at least. VB was never intended to be an object-oriented language but it tries to incorporate some of those features. Because of this, a lot of the syntax is quirky, at best, and create a *******ization of the object-oriented paradigm. If you want to learn good design methodologies I would suggest avoiding VB. But, it is good for what it was designed for, which is creating quick GUIs.

Yes it does. Sadly it does.
No, it doesn't. Learning languages that are outside the C family do far more good than bad. They allow the programmer to learn different approaches to similar problems. For instance, approaches in solving complex problems are much different in Lisp than in C++. Bad coding habits arise from laziness and lack of discipline. If a programmer doesn't learn the coding convention and the language details of a new language, that is a lack of discipline.

No, it doesn't. Learning languages that are outside the C family do far more good than bad. They allow the programmer to learn different approaches to similar problems. For instance, approaches in solving complex problems are much different in Lisp than in C++. Bad coding habits arise from laziness and lack of discipline. If a programmer doesn't learn the coding convention and the language details of a new language, that is a lack of discipline.

I don't think he said ALL languages outside of C/C++. He was referring to VB specifically.

I don't think he said ALL languages outside of C/C++. He was referring to VB specifically.