text editors, worth the learning curve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

starkmann

Baseband Member
It's a toss up for me if this belongs here or in the Linux topic so I picked one....

Text editors, you know emacs vi and their kin. I know they used to be part of the standard toolkit for all programmers. I have been reading The Pragmatic Programmer and one of their point was "Learn to use one text editor well". I'm not really a programmer but I have aspirations to do some programming, mostly web based. I have played with Emacs and am slowly working my way through the complete built in tutorial. I used vi about 5 years ago when I was actually enrolled in a CS program that I didn't finish.
From my limited, very limited, experience, I don't see the real value of text editors if you are working in a GUI OS. It seems that any old .txt file is as good as the next in Windows. I'm all for mouseless computing but I haven't yet seen that it's terribly convenient to go mouseless in these editors.

Am I just misguided, missing the point, misusing the the app or ar text editors of these types not as useful as they may have once been?

If you become well-versed in VI or VIM, you'll see the benefit. It's takes practice, though. You'll have to force yourself to use it until all the commands sink in. For programming, it can be useful.

I really can't see how a text editor could possibly benefit me over a good IDE. I know to some that is almost a sacriledge, but it seems that a lot of the "open-source" community is pretty closed-minded on things like this. I hear a lot of talk about how much more powerful it is, but I really think it's all talk. How about moving into the 21st century?

I hear a lot of talk about how much more powerful it is, but I really think it's all talk.
Then you should learn it and use it before speculating its worth.