Reading a book about C#. (newbie question)

Status
Not open for further replies.
oops on that edit I mean to say 32 different values. Getting my words mixed up now! This is all new to me so it's a lot to take in.

I get pretty lost in this book. I need to take some basics first. Some stuff seems easy to understand then some stuff is over my head.

Which book are you talking about. You should send us a link so we dont buy this book if it's that bad.

I suggest hitting your public library and checking out a few different books on C# and see which one helps you learn the concepts the best. I like John Smiley books for the absolute beginner. I would stay away from the WROX books. Microsoft Press are good too.

Have you thought about a more indirect route? If I were you, then I would find out what Java book the local high schools use in their Advanced Placement/Honors Computer Science programs and use that book to learn the basics about variables, methods, classes, arrays, and other topics. Most of the Java principles elaborated in these books can be applied to other languages such as C#, C, and C++.

To provide an example, I have written some code below.
Code:
import java.util.Scanner;
public class Example
{
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
     Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
     double i=0;
     double p=0;
     double result = 0;
     String response="yes";

while (response.equalsIgnoreCase("yes"));
     {
     System.out.print("Please input the first variable: ");
     i = input.nextDouble();
     System.out.print("Please input the second variable: ");
     p = input.nextDouble();
     result = i + p;
     System.out.println("The result of your addition was "+result+". \n");
     System.out.println("Would you like to continue with adding numbers?");
     response = input.nextLine();
     }
}