Programing Guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

stuaz

In Runtime
Hi,

To give you guys a bit of background:

I am currently working as a Support manager in a primarily Unix based company, which runs database software on Unix servers. My knowledge of Unix is quite good now compared to a few years ago when i knew nearly nothing. Most of this has been self taught (Be it in a work environment), I tend to work best by trial and error - i know not the smartest way! :p

I have a decent knowledge of Unix root scripting, however one part of the company is moving to VB apps for client machines - I learnt VB6 back at College and know the basics of C#. I have a fair grasp of HTML and CSS but mainly on the bases i can read the code to a good understanding and write basic apps in them.

So as you can see i have a very overview of programing but nothing really in depth. I want to learn C# in a lot more detail especially in connection to SQL servers.

I want to be able to support these systems without having to go back to the programmers, plus I am quite motivated to learning a new language and getting a proper grasp of Windows programming. However i am mainly a self taught person.

I am not entially sure where i am going with my career so I am trying to keep doors open and not limit myself to particular areas.

So my question is, does anyone know of any good Website Tutorials to do with C# in connection with writing data to and from an SQL server. The basics really as I only played with Access and VB6 but access isn't really dynamic on where i want to go.

Thanks for reading and for your replies.

So my question is, does anyone know of any good Website Tutorials to do with C# in connection with writing data to and from an SQL server.
For learning C# and .NET, this is a good list of resources:
http://www.amazon.com/Learn-NET-and-C#/lm/R2WVUOKK28WY8E/ref=cm_lm_pdp_title_full