Powershell Script Help

cyclones

In Runtime
Hello. I found a script on MS Technet that allows it to monitor the local users & groups of domain PC's and sends an email if any changes occur. I'm still quite new to Powershell scripting so I can't figure this one out. I'm wondering if there is anyway that the script can query an AD OU container for computer names instead of using text host names or a text file? Attached is the powershell script that I found from https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/How-to-Get-Notified-of-5afdc4fe . Thanks in advanced!

Attachments

• Detect-LocalAdmin.txt
    3.9 KB · Views: 7
Sure is! Try this

You'll just need specify an "OU" parameter when you launch the script like so:

Code:
PS> Detect-LocalAdmin.ps1 -OU 'OU=Computers,OU=siteA,dc=mydomain,dc=local' -LogFilePath C:\MyLog.log -SmtpServer mail.domain.com -EmailSubject 'New Local Administrator Detected' -EmailRecipient 'abertram@domain.com'

edit: I should note, I kiiinda cheated a lil.
In the original script, it checks the PCs in the list you give it by pinging them before accepting them. My one just grabs the whole list of PCs from the OU, then only checks them via pinging when it gets to the main process stage.

Attachments

• Detect-LocalAdmin.ps1.txt
    4.1 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:
S0ULphIRE, I tried doing that but am getting a "ambiguous" error for the OU. Thanks for helping out!

Attachments

• 2016-10-16_15h07_01.png
    2016-10-16_15h07_01.png
    19 KB · Views: 4
I changed it to -searchbase and then entered the OU information and didn't throw any error. How can I tell or know that the script is running? I don't see any output on the screen after it is launched besides >>
Thank you!

Try now - I've changed it from "OU" to "OUPath"

Detect-LocalAdmin.ps1 -OUPath 'OU=Computers,OU=siteA,dc=mydomain,dc=local' -LogFilePath C:\MyLog.log -SmtpServer mail.domain.com -EmailSubject 'New Local Administrator Detected' -EmailRecipient 'abertram@domain.com'

Attachments