Php Redirecting Using Cookies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hatter Madigan

Solid State Member
Here's what I wrote on another forum:

I'm a beginner at php (having started last week dry.gif ). I would like a script that would set a cookie when they click on a link so that they go to that page every time they visit the beginning page.

For example:

#1 : Start page w/script
#2 : Url in link that was clicked

So that when the person visits #1 again, they get automatically redirected to #2.

A little confusing..

So?

[code snipped to save space]

Hope that has helped ;)

Cheers,

~ Tkey

Two links, I don't understand what you meen.
The script above will set a cookie on the visitors first vist to the page. Then when the visitor comes again it will check for the cookie, if it exists will direct them to the page you specify in the code.

Is this what you are looking for?

Cheers,

~ Tkey

Well, it's language select page, and you need to select between languages. When you click one, you go to one of the languages home. When you go back to language select page, you get redirected to the language you selected before. There are two languages.

PHP:
<?php

$lang = $_GET['lang'];
$lang_cookie = $_COOKIE['language']; 

if (!empty ($lang_cookie)) {
	if ($lang_cookie == 'english' || $lang_cookie == 'spanish') {
		header ('location: '.$lang_cookie.'.php');
	} else {
		setcookie ('langauge','',time()-60);
	}
} else {
	if (!empty ($lang)) {
		if ($lang == 'english' || $lang == 'spanish') {
			setcookie ('language',$lang);

header ('location: '.$lang.'.php');
		} else {
			header ('location: page1.php');
		}
	} else {
		echo '<a href="page1.php?lang=english">English</a><br />';
		echo '<a href="page1.php?lang=spanish">Spanish</a><br />';
	}
}

?>