PHP code needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Syphanx

Daemon Poster
Hey guys,
I am currently designing a website for a friend which i need a certain PHP code for and I can't really find it anywhere, im a bit of a noob with PHP and the stuff is fairly simple so bare with me.

With this site, It's like a gallery, what i need to do is there is a main picture up the top of the page and several smaller thumbnail sized pictures below. What the code needs to do is when you click on one of the thumbnails it enlarges it to the size of the larger photo without reloading the page.

So if anyone out there could lend me a hand it would be greatly appreciated, this is fairly urgent as I can't really progress any further on the website until this is completed.

Cheers.

What the code needs to do is when you click on one of the thumbnails it enlarges it to the size of the larger photo without reloading the page.
PHP runs server-side only, so if you don't want the page to reload, you'll have to use something else, like Javascript.

There are many ways in which to do it... I'm not too sure on this, but you might be able to enclose the larger image in a div/span tag, and rewrite the contents with a javascript call (initiated by clicking one of the links), which would be very easy to implement.

Resizing - I would highly recommend doing this on the server, if you're dealing with larger pictures, using PHP or doing it prior to uploading the pictures to your server. You could make a fairly simple PHP script that runs on each image when the page is loaded, or one in which you manually run and it'll go through checking each and adjusting as needed.

If you have any code questions, let me know. :)

JavaScript, not Java. They are two unrelated, different things.